We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of The Godley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Godley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Kelvin Heights
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The room was not clean, the furniture was threadbare, the carpet was stained. The bathroom door had been kicked in. We asked to see a different room and got a peek at one that was worse. It was a hot day, but we couldn't open the door to the balcony because the stench was terrible - reminded me of the beach where we accidentally parked next to a decaying possum. The person at reception was completely unsympathetic and made lame excuses about not enough time to renovate the rooms. We knew it was pointless to ask for our money back and left for a better place.

re: chetercity, we were in room 418 until we left

Too bad there was no way to give a zero rating!!

Room Tip: Choose a different place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    67
    117
    115
    174
See reviews for
89
259
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked this 4 star hotel which was advertised as a "Spa resort" through wotif. Upon entering reception it becomes pretty clear that it does not match the description advertised. That aside we were hoping that the rooms would be somewhat better.

The room was terrible! One of the worst outside the third world I've ever stayed in. The biggest menace being a shower that only delivered a trickle of water either boiling hot or freezing cold. Hence nobody managed to bathe that day/night and my partner had only just finished boasting about how we'd be enjoying a bit of luxury at this "resort, spa" so we decided to forgo showers at our Mt Cook digs. There were bloodstains on the shower curtain, cracked tiles, lino whatever it was making up the interior of that bathroom, stained carpets and a balcony that looked like it could collapse at any minute. The only positive was that the sheets were at least clean.

When I approached the lady at reception to ask if there might be another room with a shower that worked, she looked at me as though I'd come from another planet and insisted indignantly that the shower in fact was in perfect working order. Even going so far as to come up and fiddle with the taps for 15 minutes until the water became a little more "tepid"

We had to spend the night hanging out at an over-priced pub because the room wasn't fit to even relax in. We awoke at 4am the next morning and drove to Dunedin. Totally unimpressed!

Room Tip: A view of the lake which is beautiful would be an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The first room we were given was awful and old with paint coming off the walls in the bathroom and shower and floor's were covered with black marks.
I went and complained as this was the most expensive room of our holiday and next to the worse.
Saw a different receptionist and she changed us to a lovely room with gorgeous views of the Lake. The room was large and very clean. We were very happy with this. Any room the 4 block is good.

Room Tip: Block 4 rooms have great views of Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I had the misfortune of staying at this hotel as part of our visit to the south island in January 2013. My partner and I have travailed extensively for work and pleasure and this would be close to one of the worst hotels we have every stayed in.

The rooms and the hotel as a whole are in need of either a serious overhaul or demolition. The Lakeview room that we stayed in was in very poor condition, with threadbare carpets. exposed wiring, creaking floors and paper thin walls. The bed was uncomfortable and the linen also showed signs of long term use including the dirty "clean" towels in the bathroom.

We dined in the restaurant for breakfast and found the food to be barely passable and overpriced.

Apart from the location of this hotel which is very good, the condition of the hotel is very very poor. On checkout we advised the receptionist of the exposed wiring issue. The receptionist’s response indicated that she was already aware of the issue and that she would pass it on for rectification.

The website makes this hotel looks very attractive but the reality is completely different. The owners of this establishment should be embarrassed and ashamed for charging the rates that they do for such a poor quality hotel.

In short, avoid the Inn of the Damned at all costs. My partner and I are bemused at the positive reviews of others about this hotel. There must be two of them in Lake Tekapo and we stayed in the wrong one.

Room Tip: Choose any other hotel other than this one or wait till the demolish and rebuild it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in a lakeveiw room and found it to be very nice. Great view, clean rooms, great visitor information and good facilities. The pool was nice with a great sitting area. Our room had one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in! It's in a good location to resturants and attractions too. We were impressed with the room overall and had no problems at all.

Room Tip: Choose a Lakeveiw room. These seem to be the niciest and most modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

How this hotel was the most expensive I stayed in during recent 3 week trip to NZ I will never know - and how I managed to book myself into it will remain a mystery! While I did have an amazing view of the Lake and a great night's sleep so credit where it is due - the decor of this hotel is so threadbare and old fasioned it has to be sen to be believed! They obviously got a job lot of khaki coloured paint somewhere too which makes the whole place look like a military training camp!

Two of the three spotlights in the bathroom didn't work, the water pressure in the shower was barely enough to get wet under...and don't bother going to the pool - it looks like it hasn't been cleaned since the 1970s when the hotel was clearly last decorated. Lots of dust noticeable but really didn't want to inspect the cleanliness too closely as I probably wouldn't have liked it!

Don't stay here if you can help it...shame - as the location is great.

Room Tip: Don't....that's my best tip. Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Whilst it's right in the middle of town ...it's awful. Following a mix up between the hotel & Booking.com there was nothing booked for us when we arrived. They gave us their last room. Everything was from the 1960s or 70s except the kettle and fridge. Altho the latter kept us awake with its constant buzzing. A sign on the back of the bathroom door warned that if you used too much hot water you'd have to wait overnight for some more... And you wouldn't spend more than a night here! Most people checked out very early - no surprise. Not sure when it's heyday was but it was a while back into the last century. And don't pay extra for a lake view cos the rooms there looked as bad as ours.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 121interviewcoaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godley Hotel

Property: The Godley Hotel
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Godley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the lake, overlooking the lake and surrounding mountains, the Godley Hotel offers comfortable and clean rooms in a beautiful and central location. It is a country style hotel with friendly staff and great service. Just 1.5 hours driving time from Aoraki Mt Cook National Park and 3 hours from Christchurch and Queenstown, the hotel is also only 40 minutes' drive from local skifields. The Church of Good Shepherd, the Sheepdog Statue, and all the restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Just a short distance away you can also find our beautiful tracks and walkways, world-class skiing, horse trekking, as well as the Tekapo Springs where you can enjoy an earth-fed natural hot spring bath and Mt John Observatory where you can view the galaxy of stars. With the wide range of outdoor activities available in Lake Tekapo, the convenience of the Godley Hotel makes it a great choice for the region. The hotel has a large restaurant and cosy bar with great Food and Beverage menu for you to choose, the hotel also offers indoor spa pool, outdoor swimming pool and a pool table for you to enjoy. A warm welcome from all of us at the Godley Hotel and we hope you enjoy your visit in the beautiful Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Godley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godley Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing