We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Godley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Godley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I arrived on Boxing Day and were treated very well by all staff. We didn't know what to expect after all the bad reviews I read, but we were upgraded to a Lakeview (stunning) room, simply because the staff member was a lovely person! The bathrooms must have been renovated in our room- no cracks or peeling, but instead brand new & in perfect order. Bed was comfy, furniture just fine. As for "blood stains"? Umm a spot of fluoro pink on my towel, that's all! Loved the Godley!

Room Tip: Upstairs Lakeview (then you don't hear creaky footsteps above).
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for The Godley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 491 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

All other hotels were fully booked when I arrived late to town. Godley had several rooms available however, and I stayed one night. It is overpriced at 140 nzd per night. The walls are paperthin, and the floors screams in agony if you even think of people walking over them. The staff is confused and ...well, there are other hotels in town. All are better than Godleys. Pick another. This is one of the most overpriced hotels in all of New Zealand.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very disappointing having booked through an i-site office. The room bore no resemblance to what was shown to us on website. It was drab, worn out and in need of a serious makeover. The carpet and lino was worn as were the bed covers. The electricity kept tripping the switch so we had one socket to use for all appliances. The shower was a disgrace, peeling. There was no help from reception. We spent the most money booking this motel out of our entire 10 days in the South island and were expecting luxury for the high prices. Our view was on one side a road and the other side a carpark and the back of other units (which had lake views!)
The area itself was beautiful, the lake and church and views were outstanding but the 'hotel' should be demolished!

Room Tip: If you have no choice and have to stay here, make sure you inspect the room or specify that you want...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenbnaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

good location the view and vicinity to Lake Tekapo are a great plus. Also the very friendly and helpful staff in particular Julie, one of the receptionists, was of great help. We strongly recommend it.



  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank rcastro53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

It seems that if you want to really enjoy a stay here you need to book an upper room with a view of the lake. Otherwise the rooms are just OK and generally tired, and not much in the way of facilities. Tiny TV.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Except the location this hotel and the staff is disgusting and its staff are highly unprofessional and rude. Very uncomfortable bed, no hot water, bad smell. A large number of fellow travelers have written negatively about this hotel, and they are absolutely correct.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank takhteh2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The website led me to believe that this place was MUCH nicer than it actually is. I was really disappointed and glad we only stayed one night. It really needs a make over and the lady on reception that we first encountered was horrible.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tash_nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godley Hotel

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $81 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Godley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the lake, overlooking the lake and surrounding mountains, the Godley Hotel offers comfortable and clean rooms in a beautiful and central location. It is a country style hotel with friendly staff and great service. Just 1.5 hours driving time from Aoraki Mt Cook National Park and 3 hours from Christchurch and Queenstown, the hotel is also only 40 minutes' drive from local skifields. The Church of Good Shepherd, the Sheepdog Statue, and all the restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Just a short distance away you can also find our beautiful tracks and walkways, world-class skiing, horse trekking, as well as the Tekapo Springs where you can enjoy an earth-fed natural hot spring bath and Mt John Observatory where you can view the galaxy of stars. With the wide range of outdoor activities available in Lake Tekapo, the convenience of the Godley Hotel makes it a great choice for the region. The hotel has a large restaurant and cosy bar with great Food and Beverage menu for you to choose, the hotel also offers indoor spa pool, outdoor swimming pool and a pool table for you to enjoy. A warm welcome from all of us at the Godley Hotel and we hope you enjoy your visit in the beautiful Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Godley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godley Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing