We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Class Act!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Tekapo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Class Act!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I'm just back home from a trip around NZ during which we started at various upmarket hotels - however, this lodge was probably our favourite of the entire trip as it was the most unique and charming. What I particularly loved was the copious original NZ art throughout the hotel and the fresh flowers in every room - this stuck me particularly when our next hotel had tasteful but rather generic prints on the walls.

Top marks also for the food. I arranged dinner, knowing the options would be limited in Tekapo and it was superb and very reasonable. Everything was locally sourced - the lamb, the salmon - and the superb pinot noir was from Kurow. Who even knew they made wine there?
Breakfast was similarly impressive. Fresh fruit, cereals, omelettes and espresso coffee to order.

The room was lovely, the view superb, and there was also a lounge for guests stocked with complimentary wine, beer and soft drinks, tea and coffee, and chocolates.

Our hostess Stephanie was also absolutely lovely. Really it was a class act - and my partner and I were impressed.

It's not cheap but if you are prepared to pay for quality, you will be rewarded with a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Graeme - what a lovely review many thanks! The reward for us is knowing we have touched our guests by sharing our beautiful possessions and hospitality. You certainly "get" us - mind you with an interest in books/art/wine/food we were on the same page.... Hope the weather in Central Otago was kind to you! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
139
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I cannot praise the lodge enough, rooms are amazing. From the moment you are greeted at the front door until the moment you leave you are made to feel special. The design of the room shows both thought and perfection, every little detail is well thought out from free beer and wine, coffee and tea in the shared to the excellent breakfast provided each morning sat over looking the brilliant view of the light blue lake before you, truly amazing. Try it and be delighted to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Kathryn - many thanks for your lovely review. Our guests make us feel rewarded when they appreciate our warm NZ hospitality... As I told you, we only allow gorgeous guests! Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Lake Tekapo Lodge is one of those all-around amazing stays. You'll love the room, you'll love the breakfast, and you'll love Alistair and Stephanie. The Lodge is beautifully decorated and the accommodation is absolutely luxurious.

The entire region is one of the most beautiful and scenic we saw during our three weeks in New Zealand, so it's well worth taking the time to see everything. Alistair gave us a great tip on a nearby lupin field and the lake is just remarkable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Andy - that's a big call saying you'll LOVE us and everything! But we do enjoy all our guests so glad you 'felt' it. Sounds like you had a great honeymoon holiday in NZ. Great photos too. Many thanks for your kind words and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stephanie and Alastair were very welcoming and helpful. The art on the walls is truly fabulous. Our room was newly decorated and very comfortable with plenty of space to open our suitcase. We voted the bedding the best on our tour of New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyanne1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Great! A good sleep and art appreciation - we hit the mark! Helped along by the natural beauty and a wholesome breakfast... so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to review us, cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had flown in from an overnight flight from Singapore to start a 2 week holiday in NZ South Island. This was our first night and the night of our 10 wedding anniversary. We expected, for the price, a lush room and stay and thats exactly what we got. The hosts (Stephanie and Alistair) were amazing. We headed over the road to McKenzies pub for a lovely hot stone steak. We were treated to a special breakfast the morning we left (thank you so much!). We loved the wine recommendations and the tips on where to go. Lake Tekapo is stunning....as is Lake Pukaki nearby. We next stayed in Burnt Cottages near Cromwell which was also fantastic. Stephanie - even after trying all the sav blancs Kuru Kuru is still my favourite ! Wonderful place, wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: The last one on the end !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Kay! Thrilled you had a great anniversary holiday and that Cromwell was good to you! I especially enjoy talking about NZ wine having spent most of my career in the NZ wine scene. Any excuse to show off our amazing producers. The Kurukuru pinot is also excellent - have passed on to the owner to export to Singapore - got at least one good customer!!? Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had a 1 night stay at Lake Tekapo Lodge for our honeymoon. Our hosts Alistair and Stephanie were very welcoming and made us feel totally at home. The carpeted walkway and room gave a very cozy feel to the whole place. Makes you wanna enjoy the stay more than heading out to take some pictures.There is a common area (lounge) where we had wine, chocolates and watched Lord of the Rings from the selection of DVDs there. What a lovely way to chill out before star gazing at night. Steph made sure that we were well taken care of all the time, and her husband is such a good cook! Breadfast was superb, and the fine spread we had made us feel energized for the day. Of all places we stayed throughout the 3 weeks we spent in New Zealand, we had very enjoyable stays but Lake Tekapo Lodge's experience takes the cake. Such warmth hospitality! We will definitely be coming back again. Till then!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms to choose from and each has a different deco furnish. All beautifully done up, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi there my darling honeymooners! It was so sweet to see you snuggled up on the couch watching LOTR with the obligatory pinot noir and Whittakers chocolates... Hope you recognised places from the movies as you travelled south? Many thanks for the lovely review - come again. Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed in lake tekapo lodge overnight, overall a very beautiful town and the lodge had amazing art decor and view of the lake.

Wished we had more than one night to relax , watch the stars, and enjoy the bedroom with a view more!

Besides a good warm breakfast (Alistair makes a mean omlette), the hosts looked after the details (good bathroom amenities, lounge room with good book/beverage selection etc).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdatedmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi there! Many thanks for the lovely view although the lake and view certainly makes our job easy....
I hope you will come back and stay again but for longer so you can enjoy the gorgeous room! Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Lodge

Property: Lake Tekapo Lodge
Address: 24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Tekapo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is under new ownership from 1 September 2012. Lodge has been upgraded and redecorated with emphasis on NZ food, wine, art.Lake Tekapo Lodge has three stunning lake and mountain view super king ensuite guests rooms. Chef hosts can provide dinner by prior arrangement highlighting premium local fare and NZ wines. A private guest lounge/library and an eclectic NZ contemporary art collection. Located adjacent to the village with easy access to activities and restaurants. On-site warm friendly & experienced hosts ensuring you have the best experience in our magnificent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tekapo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Luxury Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing