We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
$106
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mantra Lake Tekapo(Lake Tekapo)
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$184
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake Tekapo Cottages(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
$173
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tekapo Heights(Lake Tekapo)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Creel House(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Rivers Lodge(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
182
12
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungenz artother guestsnew zealandwonderful hostscontemporary artone nightpinot noirfantastic staylarge picturefive weeksbreakfast was excellentour short stayshort walkoutdoor sitting arearooms are lovelybeautiful country
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 197 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Friends had recommended that we stay here, and we've made a point of thanking them. Having travelled a great deal, we can honestly say that this was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The beds are incredibly comfortable, the rooms are luxurious, the bathrooms the last word in luxury and the views are spectacular. Alistair and Stephanie were so welcoming we felt as if we were having a lovely family visit. The food deserves several paragraphs on its own - it was amazing. To finish it all off, we had snow overnight, which added a touch of magic to an already wonderful experience. We're already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59BevS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Word of mouth is always the best referral so thanks to your friends for the recommendation! We did well with the snow - not too much to disrupt travel but enough to offer you Queenslanders a different experience... Thanks for the editing assistance and look forward to the return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Lake Tekapo Lodge has magnificent views of the lake and the iconic stone Church of the Good Shepherd on its foreshore all surrounded by mountains, from the relaxing terraces and amazing guest rooms.
Stephanie and Alistair have transformed the lodge since our last visit. Stunning, tasteful decor enhances the luxurious comfort experienced throughout the guest wing, and attention to detail is clearly obvious.
Our breakfast cooked by Alistair was scrumptious and enjoyed whilst admiring the vista through the dining room window.
Stephanie and Alistair's collection of artwork is simply amazing, as is the selection of books in the very comfortable guest lounge.
We have travelled the globe and it is amazing to think we had to come full circle to experience such warmth and hospitality in sumptuous surroundings.To stay longer was very tempting but alas this could not be. However, we will be back !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueN331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Wow Sue, just come on back then! Yes I agree, the Tekapo experience is world class with such stunning natural landscape. We are privileged to live and work here and anything we can do to enhance the visitor experience is a bonus... Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What an incredible place! Upon entering you are welcomed and made to feel like a long lost friend.
Stephanie and Alistair are wonderful hosts and the lodge itself is divine. Combining their love of good food, great wine, the best of New Zealand art and a love of books, the lodge is a cultural celebration of New Zealand.
And the location... wake up to one of the most beautiful views in the world.

This place is a gem.

Room Tip: The Tekapo Room is wonderful. Big bathroom, beaut shower, gorgeously decorated- perfect for couples.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thanks Rachel - it is such a reward to us when the things that we love are shared and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for a great stay. Will certainly be back.
The lodge has just been fully renovated, new bathrooms, etc. making for a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. Hotel styles with the warmth and soul of the best B&Bs

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Great you liked our renovations ! Look forward to seeing you back here again soon - not too far for a bit of R & R?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for the second time in a year and there is simply no other places that compares. Having enjoyed Bed and Breakfast accommodation around the world, Lake Tekapo Lodge is a top favourite and so wonderful that it is on our back door from Christchurch.

Stephanie and Alistair are wonderful hosts and clearly are very proud of their home and business and they have every right to be. The location is stunning, the accommodation is sublime and for us in Christchurch it's a home away from home. We love it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelholic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was a thrill to see you return to stay with us. Next time we will be more glamorous with room renovation/redecoration underway as I write this... we look like 60 Minute makeover with tradesmen working furiously to meet our schedule. We are looking forward to hearing all about your next intrepid adventure! All the best, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews