We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but could be better”
Review of Creel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creel House
Ranked #4 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The room is nice with a lovely view on Lake Tekapo. The bed is small. And there is no TV in the room. The hosts expect that guests use the TV that is located in the(ir) living room. This lack of privacy is also reflected in other aspects. There is no lock on the room and the bathroom is outside the room across the stairway. Due to a low water pressure the shower does not function well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryneeDoig, Owner at Creel House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Greetings NC0205
In response to your comments, the bed is a standard NZ queen size bed and I’m sorry that we do not have tv’s in the guest bedrooms. From time to time we survey guests about this and the response has been surprisingly as a preference that a tv in the bedroom is not a prerequisite, but have noted your comment. The tv is in the guest lounge which is a communal area for all guests to use and so those that like to watch tv can do so there or read etc. or be social. A tv in the bedroom would be more practical for those who do not want to socialise with others as we do not offer a private tv lounge. We have asked the mobile locksmith to come and place doorlocks on the bedroom doors. Living in a very small rural village, and a quiet back street with a pine forest at the back of us we haven’t felt the necessity to have door locks on guest bedrooms as is typical with country kiwi culture, but I hope this will appease any concerns that readers may have. Each room will have an individual key. The house is always locked at night and locked when I go to the village shop as a matter of practise and commonsense.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

Rosemary was the perfect host....available to give advice and answer questions, but not intrusive. The B&B is lovely! big room, comfortably furnished, great location at top of hill overlooking the lake. FABULOUS breakfast with home-baked muffins and croissants. We were so glad we drove up the hill and stumbled on it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary-neeDoig, Owner at Creel House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments! Much appreciated, and it was nice that you took the time to do so. Hope you enjoyed the rest of NZ as much as enjoyed Tekapo! These ladies did a 13km walk - Richmond trail - a popular hike but better for a cooler day and am embarrassed to say 'I haven't done it yet!' its a newer trail but will make the time over winter!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We only stayed here one night, but found it a comfortable place to stay in a fine location, ten minutes walk from the centre of the village. We had a room at the top of the house with a nice balcony and outstanding views over the lake. The shower in our room, though clean, needed some updating - had low pressure and was not for tall people. Breakfast was on the sober side for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyandClaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary-neeDoig, Owner at Creel House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Pleased that you enjoyed the balcony room and our location. I checked the shower fitting after you left, and the shower rose which has a small water regulator adjuster that adjoins it had been turned down which would have given a low water output. The rose itself is 1.82m from the base of the shower. It normally has a standard household flow but not as fast as a high pressure so it would be a very different experience for you if you have only ever used high pressure showers. The bathrooms are single person use whether they are private or ensuite which means that two people cannot run water at the same time, that is flush the toilet or use the hand basin while you are in the shower because this will affect the flow. This is specific to within each bathroom. The size of the shower is 1000m x 1000m but is the 80’s design.
Our home as with the majority of NZ homes has a low water mains system and today the newly built purpose bed and breakfasts have high pressure systems installed. I have delayed replying because I check with guests from time to time to ask if they have had any problems with the shower but seems to have been working as it should.
Thank you for your comments and suggestions about the bathrooms and breakfast.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This place is way overpriced! Our room was fine, but the breakfast was ho-hum. We were there for the fishing, and it seems Grant would rather hunt than fish. We also spent a lot of time going through the back roads. Exciting ride, but not many fish. We caught one fish over 10 inches. There were two of us fishing and he never changed flies the whole day. Didn't bring any drinks for the day. Fortunately I had one bottle of water with me, and we had a bottle of wine. The lunch was so-so; a couple of sandwiches and a few cookies. They say they have living quarters downstairs but seemed to be in the guest lounge quite a bit, making it a little uncomfortable and awkward for guests.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilouR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary-neeDoig, Owner at Creel House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

It was explained to you both on arrival by Grant that the Mackenzie area and Tekapo Rivers had received a very high rainfall in the previous two weeks and that the rivers had been in flood but had receded, and the option of not going on the trip was discussed because post flooding fishing would not produce the best results. However it was agreed to go out. Back roads for fishing access is normal and Grant changes the flies very quickly particularly if there if nothing happening. It is in his best interests to do so, so the maximum opportunities are there for hook ups. At the end of the day it is only the skill of the fishing client that will catch the fish. The Tekapo River is challenging on a persons skill and casting with a nymph across and round is a good way to fish for people who are novices like yourselves. For novices, catching one fish is good when the river conditions are not great. Some expert fly fishermen don't catch any fish at all on some days, but that is fishing. If it was easy, nobody would bother fishing. With fishing by sight you normally have only one chance for each fish, and can miss your presentation opportunity due to incorrect casting or bad technique. The flybox is sorted, and counted at the return of the day between ourselves and records are kept of fishing activity etc. Clients also need to have good listening skills and to have the ability to put into practice the advice and guidance they are given.
Water - We always ask clients to bring their own water bottles which is discussed on arrival and as well we provided tea/coffee and carry 4 litres of water to use as extra supplies. Grant asked in the morning if you would like tea/coffee and you asked if you could bring wine to drink. He took your reply which was an indirect reply as a no, you did not want tea or coffee. He apologises for forgetting to offer you more water but it would have been so easy to rectify if you had simply asked. Taking alcohol on a fishing trip is not permitted now because of OSH Occupational Health and Safety risk mangement etc. and it is the first time that a client has asked to take alcohol on a trip and he has been a Guide for many years.
Guest lounge - shared by other guests and hosted when available to host. I was in the kitchen preparing for the morning breakfasts which were 6.30 a.m. and 7.30 a.m. for your stay. Breakfast is advertised as continental and was made fresh with home baking. You were in the lounge enjoying wine and called out two questions to me so I left the kitchen to come and sit down and answer those questions and the following ones as I don't have a loud voice to call back. You apologised for the number of questions but no big deal, was happy to answer them. That was ten minutes, no more if even that. As a host thought that was the right thing to do and part of being hospitable without intruding, and returned back to the kitchen so you could continue with your wine and relaxing. As Grant would not be seeing you before your departure the following morning he arrived in briefly to be congenial as a host and was there was no more than five minutes as he needed to retire after a long day. We are a small business and appreciated your custom. We know the kiwi dollar is high but considering the mileage, cost of diesel, road user charges, fishing costs, the taxes we pay etc are all built in and feel that you did receive value for your money and other Professional Guides would indeed charge more for a days flyfishing and two nights accommodation with breakfast and lunch provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

The B&B is located on great place next to lake Tekapo, the rest doesn't meet my expectations and for sure not the price, it looks very "industrial" and does give the warm feeling of homy place, the room and the bathroom are very minimally furnitutrd and the hospitality is moderate, if you expect motel like style this is the place otherwise not

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giladtzori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Rosemary and Grant make you very welcome. Room spacous though had to go across landing to bathroom.No TV in bedroom.Very good Continental Brekafast.
Good place to stop to see Lake Tekapo and visit the Observatory to see the Night Sky.Unfortunetely overcast 1st night and Partly cloudy the 2nd night.Observatory expensive,reduced price by 10$NZ due this.We managed to see some star's etc. The Staff were very friendly and informative.Due to the above we were given a DVD Rom of
Mackenzie Splendour ,Night Sky. Played Golf at the highest course in New Zealand,very dry, fairways were poor. Good pizza restaurant.Note most restaurants close 9-00pm.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Creel House is a fairly modest B&B. Our room was clean and functional and breakfast was very good. It would have been better if the bed had been a little less saggy. It was fine for a one night stay but not longer (for us). The stairs to the bedrooms are rather narrow. Rosemary was very helpful ahead of our visit - responsive and she made an excellent restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickmacs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marie Therese Bed & Breakfast
Marie Therese Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel House

Address: 36 Murray Place, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $125 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Creel House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel House is located in the village of Lake Tekapo and is an excellent base for exploring the Tekapo and the Mt Cook region. Your hosts, Rosemary & Grant invite you to stay in their three storied home built by Grant in the style of a Norwegian chalet. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with three guest bedrooms, two doubles (queen beds) with private bathrooms, and twin room with two single beds and ensuite. The accommodation is on the middle and upper floor with guest entrance and lounge. A continental breakfast is served with homemade and seasonal produce. Lake Tekapo is situated halfway between Christchurch and Queenstown, and only 75 minutes from Mt. Cook. It is also close to Roundhill, and Mt Dobson skifields for winter skiing and pursuits. The lake is known for its incredibly turquoise blue glacial waters and the historic Church of the Good Shepherd which sits on the foreshore. Local walks start nearby. Creel House is a 12 minute walk to the restaurants and shops, or five minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Creel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing