We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location is fabulous as the hostel is just location behind the only row of shops in Lake Tekapo. Furthermore, the Lake is just opposite the accommodation, across the domain. Since the hostel is operated by the Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, they do provide the free towel which change daily and room cleaning daily.

The room is clean and spacious even in a six person dorm room. However, the kitchen is relative small which maximum can only accommodate 3 person at any time. Dining room, kitchen and TV lounge are shared in same place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

The six bunk dorm we stayed in was very clean and more spacious compared to other hostels. The property also had motel type rooms but the only room available for the four of us was in their budget accommodation. It had an a/c and fan, no windows but a skylight roof for stargazing I suppose, no heater but each bed had an electric blanket. There were four toilets & baths as far as I can remember so waiting time was not that long. The only drawback was the single kitchen facility which was not enough in my opinion.

There was free wifi with a limit of 20MB, after which we had to pay for internet use. Parking was no problem since there was a big parking lot nearby. Restaurants, shops, a supermarket, and gas station are just a few steps away.

And best of all, right in front was Lake Tekapo for everyone to enjoy. A few minutes by car was the Church of the Good Sheperd and the collie statue where a lot of tourists stop to make the obligatory photo shoot. We also went to Mt. John Observatory which is also located not too far away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Staying at this hostel was a last minute decision, but the staff accommodated me quite well and made me feel very welcome. These are half motel and half hostel type premises, so the cleaning crew does a great job keeping the rooms clean. The added bonus were the nice, clean towels that came with the price of the bed, which is not the norm, and, in fact, I have not encountered any other hostel on my two-week trip that provided free towels. The kitchen is small, but one of the ladies took it upon herself to make sure that it was clean throughout the day, which made it one of the cleanest kitchens I've seen on my South Island trip. They also keep free milk in the fridge for guests. The location is very convenient as well to the famous Church of the Good Shepherd, Mt. John hiking trails, and nearby kayaking. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicevarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
Thank Melinde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky東京
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Roxie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,011 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation

Address: PO Box 126 | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing