We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the cost”
Review of Parkhead Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkhead Motel
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Booked this last minute when we decided to stay a night in Lake Tekapo to visit the Dark Sky Reserve. The location is excellent for the cost as compared to other hotels we looked up along the lake. The rooms are bare bones but clean, spacious, and warm. I would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ting t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 63 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Have stayed many time before, the front units are old and could do with an update in some areas the newer units and the house are very good but the view from the front straight up Lake Tekapo is worth the stay, within easy walking to the town, the units are warm and comfortable and reasonably priced

Room Tip: 2 front units have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This little motel was hidden away and looked dated from the outside, however once inside the unit we were pleasantly surprised. Unit was clesn and had all that we required. Pleasant host snd the most fahtastic view of the lake. It is an easy walk into the village. Would happily stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Lovely spot right by the lake. Owner friendly and helpful but not overbearing.Yes its a little dated, but contains everything you need, and good value for money.Only a short distance to cafes and stores. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We paid $125 a night for a really comfy contained unit, with double bed and a single, satellite TV, small kitchenette, two reclining chairs and a small patio with amazing views of the lake and mountains. We dragged the chairs out onto the deck and indulged ourselves in the vista for hours. Sure, the bathroom was dated, the shower wasn't the best, but this is $125, for 2 people, it's stunning value. The walls were thin, we were lucky that next door were very quiet.

Room Tip: If you can, there are two cabins nearest the road where the views would be uniterupted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and the outside of the building was not that impressive but the town was busy and we needed a room. The rooms were spacious and clean and very practical. It is right across the road from Lake Tekapo so the views are amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. As we were only passing through Tekapo we were after a budget pick. The units looked a bit disconcerting from the outside - kind of like transportables or older cabins from a caravan park - and the decor and fixtures are dated, but the room was very spacious, warm, and provided an excellent view of the lake and surrounding mountains. The bathroom is basic; didn't use the kitchenette facilities but it appeared to have all the basics for a couple days' stay.

If this is in your price point and are you aware that you're not getting top luxury, then it would be a good selection for 1 or 2 nights.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Saffron_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#12 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhead Motel

Address: 10 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $94 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing