We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag.”
Review of Parkhead Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkhead Motel
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The large Queen Studio Unit had a lovely lake view with a shared large balcony where you could sit and admire the view. There as a small kitchen area with a toaster, microwave and small refrigerator. The ensuite was small, but adequate. The unit was clean and the internet accessokay worked okey for us. There was no Iron or hairdryer and although the towels were changed daily, they did not make the bed or generally service the room.The mattress was was only fair. It is situated in a convenient location with a short. walk to the village. A one or two day stay would be okay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Parkhead Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here on the 10 Dec 2011, totally love the house we booked. It has 3 bedrooms and a well-equiped kitchen. The view is something to die for, Lake Tekapo directly across the road from where we stay. Would definitely recommend to friends and whoever going to Lake Tekapo! In NZ, having a large group does have advantage, you get to have the whole house to yourself and everyone is happy!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jollyshandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I am staying at the motel just now and can't complain. Ok, the bathroom might be a little dated, but the shower works and everything is clean. The room is spacious, but the best thing is the view. Right out to the lake, clear as crystal and although there are neighboring properties, they are far more expensive than here. We have a balcony to sit out on and enjoy the sun with seats and a cute wooden table. The owner has been friendly and we are going to extend our stay because of the peaceful location with wonderful views. The sunsets out the back are to die for and the Church of the Good Shepherd is just 2 minutes walk along the road. Recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The studio room we had is facing the lake but there are couple of bigger rooms in front of us. The rate NZ$115 is a little bit high for the spacious but dated room. The bathroom also shows its age. There is no kitchen and the owner suggests there are lots of restaurants in town why bother to cook (there's also no big supermarket in town). Internet is NZ$4/day though wireless signal isn't so good and it's only on until 11pm.
We love the motel for its location right on the lake front but there are many other motels along this road.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has full view of the lake
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tultleist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed at the 3 bedroom Lake House Unit. Very nicely designed unit, with very good view of the lake Tekapo across the street.

The property is about 3 min walk from the Church of Good shepherd, and a short drive to the village center. The rooms are of adequate size, and clean. The master bedroom has an en suite, and there is another bathroom outside.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our room looked out on the lake and there were covered carports, which is handy for keeping snow off the car. Our room was outdated and very cold.
The heating did not seem to work very well. We ran out of hot water during our shower.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mon83Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were traveling NZ with another couple for 23 days and of all the places we stayed, this was our favorite. NZ pronounciation of this lodge is Pock-heed (but that's another very funny, but long story!) Comfortable roomy house with all the conveniences plus beautiful scenery right across the street. There's no downtown, just a very small national park-like village with gas, small grocery and some very nice restaurants. The house we rented had three very nice bedrooms, two bathrooms, a decent-sized kitchen, big living room, large porch looking right out to the lake and a small, well-manicured yard. Wish we could have stayed there another week! This is the place to go if you just want to relax far from the big cities of NZ...because there's little here except Mother Nature.

Room Tip: Ask for the little house right by the road, just as your enter the Parkhead grounds.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#12 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhead Motel

Address: 10 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $94 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing