We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Lakeview Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeview Tekapo
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We came to Lake tekapo for a friend's surprise birthday party also to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Driving smooth from Christchurch for approximately 3 hours with beautiful scenic of MacKenzie country and the Southern Alps along the way.
After some catch ups with friends, we checked in to the hotel in afternoon.
This accommodation has got limited unit to stay and we're lucky to make reservation some months earlier noticing this is very popular resort.
The room is so clean facilitated by modern semi contemporary design interior. Awesome view from lounge room looking straight the Southern Alps in the distance and Lake Tekapo. Provided by skylight on the top of bedroom area thoroughly enjoying beautiful starry night before we sleep.
The kitchenware set are all in the good condition. Bathroom is tidy and the toilet seat and cistern works really well with the hydraulic system makes a good impression of how well maintained this accommodation.
Overall impression is very good and really enjoying our stay and if we visit this resort again, will definitely come back to this hotel again:)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ogswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 73 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This little boutique B and B, a few minutes out of town, has all the comforts of home with fantastic bedding and superb blockout curtains so that you can sleep in if the weather turns nasty. Looking out to the gorgeous lake is a plus and the stargazing window above the bed is a cute touch. Loved the high pressure shower and all the new mod fittings and fluffy towels. At around $200 NZD a night, you would expect the place to be wonderful and it is.....It has taken me over a year to write this review but it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: try and get view of lake but remember there is a road between the b and b and the lake, but very few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautifully appointed with 3 separate suites available. Stylish and modern with great linen and furniture selected throughout. Owners are on site and a delight. Beautiful views over the lake.
The best bit is No Kids!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Can not fault this place... it's perfect!!!

Easy to find
Friendly welcome when we checked in, and the host was very helpful. Suggested great restuarants to eat and local attractions.

Room was better than what we excepted. Very clean and tidy. Well equipt kitchen. Like the little touches such as an ice scraper for the car windscreen and binoculars.
Underfloor heating in the bathroom was a treat, and the sky window was fantastic.

We will have to stay again when in Tekapo next.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenMGisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night in our annual trip to Lake Tekapo, only because Peppers was sold out the night we wanted to stay. We actually arrived on the wrong day! Staying the day after, but the owners were extremely friendly and helped us with other accommodation. On the night of our stay, we were floored by how modern and spacious the rooms were. Literally unimpeded views of the lake, skylight above the bed to view the stars from - if you're the romantic type, but it has a shutter - huge bathroom, kitchenette and lounge area with a big TV. We always stayed at Peppers on our stay in Lake Tekapo - but now we've found our new go-to accommodation. It was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in Crux, which is the very end room by the driveway. Super quiet so had the best sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dre_Hughesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly reception. We were given maps for the area and given recommendations for the area. We were then given a tour of the room and how to use the facilities, which we found very useful. The rooms are very new and contain modern tv, showers etc. The sky roof is a fantastic addition to the room, the views of the lake are pristine in the afternoon, and binoculars are supplied in the room to further observe the beauty of the surrounding area. Despite the closeness of the rooms, they are very quiet, and you wouldn't be aware that other guests were staying as well. Free wifi is a bonus. Overall a fantastic place to stay in Lake Tekapo.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank candicemarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular views, great people would definatley come back .Stayed for two nights and were made very welcome. We were lucky it snowed. Nice sitting outside on the deck chairs with a wine. Stargazing opening was nice at nite looking at the stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plantsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 17 in Lake Tekapo
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 17 in Lake Tekapo
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
700 reviews
1 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Tekapo

Address: 6 Lochinver Avenue | PO Box 204, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $209 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeview Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Tekapo has been designed and purpose-built in 2010 with our guests' comfort in mind. We are situated just a short walk from the lakefront, Lake Tekapo Regional Park and Lake Tekapo’s famous Church of the Good Shepherd. Each of our luxury self-contained suites enjoys absolute and uninterrupted views of Lake Tekapo, the Southern Alps and the lake’s surrounding mountain ranges. One of the best scenic vistas in Lake Tekapo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lakeview Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing