We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic accommodation and views - a great stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeview Tekapo
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation and views - a great stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The quality of accommodation at Lakeview Tekapo was outstanding. The brand new single level suites are of a very high standard and allowed us to maximise the viewing of the night sky through the skylight, and the incredible mountain views from the lounge.
The extras chocolate etc were very well received.
Have already recommended Lakeview Tekapo to friends and family as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel isnt quite what you would expect as it is actually a standard kit home situated in a residential street that has been converted to a hotel. The rooms are on top of each other as you would expect at a b and b. compared to other NZ accommodation it's very overpriced. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Louiselilywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTOwnerOperator, Owner at Lakeview Tekapo, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Please disregard and ignore this review.
This person has produced this fraudulent review for reasons known only to them. Our business was closed on the date that this person allegedly stayed. They must have stayed elsewhere or are just ‘having a laugh’.
We have requested Tripadvisor to remove this false review.
Craig & Kay Stinson
Lakeview Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Lakeview Tekapo was a wonderful place to finish our trip. The accommodation was tastefully furnished and extremely spacious with beautiful lounge overlooking the Lake Tekapo in the distance. We woke up to beautiful views in the morning. There were two large televisions- one in the lounge and the other in the bedroom which was a luxury. Other nice touches included binoculars, coffee table books and a cloth to clear ice from the car. The bed was very comfortable and even though the weather was poor, we were able to stargaze through the viewing window. Bathroom was immaculate with toiletries provided. Craig was very helpful and provided us with good information on where to eat in town. Lakeview is not situated directly at the town centre but located in a very peaceful and open area which we preferred.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lakeview wasn't exactly what we expected. What was described as a well equipped kitchen didnt allow for any food prep and only cooking in a microwave, so we were a little disappointed with that. Also, the rooms are right next to each other and there is no divide between the porch between each room. They are very close. We also were underwhelmed with the viewing window for star gazing. It was small and there were no stars when we were there. Having said this, these were the only negatives and didnt have major impact on our stay. The rooms were new, modern, very clean and comfortable and at a good price point. We loved our time at Tekapo and this was great accommodation, with comfortable bed. It was about 20 minute walk into the heart of town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazneitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire Bay NSW Aust
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Thanks Craig.

We really ejoyed our stay at Lakeview. The room was exceptionally clean and there was plenty of room. The decor was just lovely and the few extra treats - chocolates and mints - were icing on the cake. The books on the coffee table were also a nice touch. We both enjoyed looking through them.

The only thing I was disappointed in was that there where to do our laundry before heading home. But only a minor hiccup.

I have recommended this accommodation to a friend who is a travel agent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Pam Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Wow, what a beautiful place with the best views of the magnificent Lake Tekapo there is in town. The accommodation was beautifully appointed and styled with top quality furniture and fittings making us feel very spoilt. This is a great spot well worth stopping at on your way between Queenstown and Christchurch. The owners were very nice and helpful too. The beautiful bathroom is worth mentioning too with a really great shower and the skylight over the bed to watch the stars at night was a real treat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizannePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Beautifully appointed accommodation - queen bed, separate lounge area (large screen tv in each), reasonable kitchenette, superb bathroom, huge patio window and stunning view of Lake Tekapo. Unique too, was the skylight above the bed for stargazing at night - we laid there and let the Southern Cross mesmerise us to sleep! Very well equipped and being new, everything seemed good quality. We were nearing the end of 5 weeks travelling in NZ and this was the best motel we found.

The village centre is about a couple of mins drive away, where there is limited shopping for provisions. There didn't seem to be any restaurants offering much class. If travelling from a larger town and you wish to self-cater, it might be better to do your shopping before setting out. However, whilst very nice, the kitchenette is limited - only a microwave and electric frying pan for cooking (no hob or oven).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Tekapo

Property: Lakeview Tekapo
Address: 6 Lochinver Avenue | PO Box 204, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeview Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Tekapo has been designed and purpose-built in 2010 with our guests' comfort in mind. We are situated just a short walk from the lakefront, Lake Tekapo Regional Park and Lake Tekapo’s famous Church of the Good Shepherd. Each of our luxury self-contained suites enjoys absolute and uninterrupted views of Lake Tekapo, the Southern Alps and the lake’s surrounding mountain ranges. One of the best scenic vistas in Lake Tekapo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lakeview Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing