We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute couple and great hosts.”
Review of Tekapo Top House

Tekapo Top House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tekapo Top House
Ranked #8 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place is in the super small town of Tekapo, and is a little away from the Lake itself, so you dont get a view of the lake.
But because it's at a slight height, you get brilliant views of everything around you.
We were lucky, because we booked a room with the host, which would have been smaller and on the ground floor - luckily, the one room on the 1st floor was free, so we stayed there at the same rate.
The room was great - a double bed and a single bed; nice hot shower.
The breakfast was a simple milk, cereal, toast, etc. but with some of their homemade preserves :)

About the town - things shut down very early, so make sure you eat your fill before 9 pm.

Room Tip: Ask for the top room.
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tirath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Tekapo Top House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

It was the last place available in town when we arrived. We were lucky to have this great place to stay with a very welcoming couple. You feel like home, very comfy and very cleaned. Expect to pay 140$NZ per night for a room.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bencourriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My only complaint is of myself...that we didn't stay longer in Lake Tekapo with Ann and Tony.

The Tekapo Top House is just that...at the Top of Lake Tekapo, literally! Their house is situated on the very top of the neighborhoods of Lake Tekapo which makes the surroundings so peaceful. The en-suite room is very well appointed, with everything you could ask for and more. Clean, cozy and quiet. Ann and Tony are the perfect hosts. Very caring, open and helpful.
I would highly recommend the Tekapo Top House to anyone travelling to Lake Tekapo. Not only is the lake one of the most beautiful sites we've seen, but your hosts and the house are the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The top floor ensuite is the best room!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeHeartTravel_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

… and the finest of views in every direction. We thoroughly enjoyed Ann & Tony's company over a glass of wine and nibbles before we walked down into the town in the evening. If you're fortunate to have a clear night sky, do accompany Tony on the balcony for some star and planet gazing. We left Tekapo Top House fully laundered, buttons resewn having enjoyed a home from home stay with charming hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingfisher58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a great evening with Anne and Tony. Room with windows and views on three sides, all glorious. Clear clear evening and stars filling the sky - and with Tony's commentary the stars all identified! Beautiful home, beautiful people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a beautiful B & B with amazing hosts. You will be made to feel very welcome, and the room was lovely with views of the lakes and mountains, just stunning. The breakfast was cereal, and toast which was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 248Trish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Tekapo Top House - everything was perfect and immaculate. A lovely room was put up to welcome our stay with amazing view of surrounding mountains. A must for all star-gazers.

Friendly hosts (Ann and Tony) were extremely helpful in giving us recommendations for things to do in Tekapo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this little gem in Tekapo.

Wilfred & Rebecca

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilfred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,927 reviews
1.3 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Top House

Address: Andrew Don Dr, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing