We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of World at Tekapo Top House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tekapo Top House

Tekapo Top House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tekapo Top House
Ranked #9 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Top of World at Tekapo Top House!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My only complaint is of myself...that we didn't stay longer in Lake Tekapo with Ann and Tony.

The Tekapo Top House is just that...at the Top of Lake Tekapo, literally! Their house is situated on the very top of the neighborhoods of Lake Tekapo which makes the surroundings so peaceful. The en-suite room is very well appointed, with everything you could ask for and more. Clean, cozy and quiet. Ann and Tony are the perfect hosts. Very caring, open and helpful.
I would highly recommend the Tekapo Top House to anyone travelling to Lake Tekapo. Not only is the lake one of the most beautiful sites we've seen, but your hosts and the house are the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The top floor ensuite is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeHeartTravel_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

… and the finest of views in every direction. We thoroughly enjoyed Ann & Tony's company over a glass of wine and nibbles before we walked down into the town in the evening. If you're fortunate to have a clear night sky, do accompany Tony on the balcony for some star and planet gazing. We left Tekapo Top House fully laundered, buttons resewn having enjoyed a home from home stay with charming hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfisher58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a great evening with Anne and Tony. Room with windows and views on three sides, all glorious. Clear clear evening and stars filling the sky - and with Tony's commentary the stars all identified! Beautiful home, beautiful people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a beautiful B & B with amazing hosts. You will be made to feel very welcome, and the room was lovely with views of the lakes and mountains, just stunning. The breakfast was cereal, and toast which was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 248Trish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Tekapo Top House - everything was perfect and immaculate. A lovely room was put up to welcome our stay with amazing view of surrounding mountains. A must for all star-gazers.

Friendly hosts (Ann and Tony) were extremely helpful in giving us recommendations for things to do in Tekapo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this little gem in Tekapo.

Wilfred & Rebecca

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilfred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Of our entire trip, this was my favourite lodging. When you step into Tekapo Top House, you step into the lives of Anne and Tony Crowe, and they into yours. Though it was our first and only B&B of the trip, I think they have truly set the bar. Their home is beautiful and cosy and it really is a home away from home. Anne and Tony are very very personable and welcoming. If you don't have anything to do in the evenings, spend some time with them and have a good chat around the fire place. They shared about their lives and experiences, and my favourite part was when Tony brought us outside in the night to look at the stars. Absolutely beautiful view. Tony will tell you the constellations in the sky and the names of most of the stars that you would be able to see. And trust me, you will be able to see a lot!! Beds and rooms were very comfortable, wi-fi comes with the room. Breakfast from the kitchen and pantry of Anne, lovely simply breakfast. You're guaranteed a great stay with them. My only regret was that we only spent a night here. Would've loved to stay longer if we a chance. Will definitely return when we travel to NZ again. Highly recommended stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan_Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Last week I had the privilege of staying at Tekapo Top House with Anne and Tony Crowe. Anne and Tony’s home is ideally placed to capture the feelings and atmosphere of the McKenzie Country being on a high point with generous views. Their hospitality and friendliness made my stay very pleasant and I would recommend calling them if you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast facility in Tekapo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Top House

Property: Tekapo Top House
Address: Andrew Don Dr, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing