We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stargazers Delight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tekapo Top House

Tekapo Top House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tekapo Top House
Ranked #8 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Stargazers Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a great evening with Anne and Tony. Room with windows and views on three sides, all glorious. Clear clear evening and stars filling the sky - and with Tony's commentary the stars all identified! Beautiful home, beautiful people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a beautiful B & B with amazing hosts. You will be made to feel very welcome, and the room was lovely with views of the lakes and mountains, just stunning. The breakfast was cereal, and toast which was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 248Trish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Tekapo Top House - everything was perfect and immaculate. A lovely room was put up to welcome our stay with amazing view of surrounding mountains. A must for all star-gazers.

Friendly hosts (Ann and Tony) were extremely helpful in giving us recommendations for things to do in Tekapo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this little gem in Tekapo.

Wilfred & Rebecca

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chwilfredng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Of our entire trip, this was my favourite lodging. When you step into Tekapo Top House, you step into the lives of Anne and Tony Crowe, and they into yours. Though it was our first and only B&B of the trip, I think they have truly set the bar. Their home is beautiful and cosy and it really is a home away from home. Anne and Tony are very very personable and welcoming. If you don't have anything to do in the evenings, spend some time with them and have a good chat around the fire place. They shared about their lives and experiences, and my favourite part was when Tony brought us outside in the night to look at the stars. Absolutely beautiful view. Tony will tell you the constellations in the sky and the names of most of the stars that you would be able to see. And trust me, you will be able to see a lot!! Beds and rooms were very comfortable, wi-fi comes with the room. Breakfast from the kitchen and pantry of Anne, lovely simply breakfast. You're guaranteed a great stay with them. My only regret was that we only spent a night here. Would've loved to stay longer if we a chance. Will definitely return when we travel to NZ again. Highly recommended stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan_Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Last week I had the privilege of staying at Tekapo Top House with Anne and Tony Crowe. Anne and Tony’s home is ideally placed to capture the feelings and atmosphere of the McKenzie Country being on a high point with generous views. Their hospitality and friendliness made my stay very pleasant and I would recommend calling them if you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast facility in Tekapo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Though there were not many reviews at the time we booked the B&B, I am glad that I made the right choice! Ann and Tony are lovely host, room is spacious, clean and comfortable. View from the room on the other side of the town is nice. We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The house is 3 minutes driving to Lake Tekapo, so it is not far from the lake. I like it because it has very good view, with windows in different walls. We could see sunrise and sunset when we sit in bed or beside windows, very nice view. The house is a stand alone one, so it is very quiet, and the view will not be blocked.

The room is very tidy and clean, with elegent and lovely decoration, make us feel like home, very lovely.

Ann and Tony are very kind and hospitable, we have a good breakfast and an interesting talk.

在这个小屋度过了情人节,回忆很是甜美。房子在离湖边车程3分钟的小镇外边,周围很空旷安静,视野开阔。我们住的是二楼的top view房间,非常的赞!房间三面有窗,风景非常好。坐在床上或者飘窗,闲看日出日落,云卷云舒,品茶看书甚是惬意。

房间装修布置的很雅致,老奶奶是英国移民的后裔,感觉总体有点维多利亚的风格,枕套被单都是镂空花边的,挺讲究的。卫生间的小窗针对湖光山色,就像一幅挂画。很喜欢住这个房间,也喜欢飘窗上的书,Yesterday of New Zealand,讲了很多这个美丽岛国的过往生活。

Ann和Tony非常友善好客,让人感觉宾至如归。共进早餐相聚闲聊也趣味多多。

Room Tip: I like second floor room, with so beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Top House

Property: Tekapo Top House
Address: Andrew Don Dr, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing