We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable!”
Review of Tekapo Springs

Tekapo Springs
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare to ride the new 11 metre high - 53 metre long TRIPPO water slide in summer. There is also an artificial summer tube. Enjoy a treatment at the Day Spa or relax in our fully licensed cafe onsite.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“enjoyable!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We arrived at Lake Tekapo and booked into our lakeside house before finally deciding to head to Tekapo Springs later in the evening near closing time. We were rugged up since it was a little chilly but the snow tubing park warmed us up in a hurry! There was not many people so we had plenty of turns at the track and the kids had a ball with it.

The ice skating was ok, 4 out of 6 of us tried it and they thought that was a treat as its not something we do often. The outside area really is drab and could do with something to lift the mood! There is what I would consider a normal house sized fire place down one end of the building and you can stand a few people in front of it but not really pleasing to the eye.. Going inside was much warmer!

The Hot pools were also ok - warm after the snow tubing! We did not have as long in here as we spent the full hour allowed on the tubes before making our way to the other activities but this made it near to their closing time.

Alot of fun though especially because we werent amongst the big crowds. Very clean but looks quite old.. but with the name change I am not sure they did rejuvenate the area. The scenery is gorgeous!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank T_CMac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TekapoSpringsNZ, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of Tekapo Springs. That is great that you enjoyed the tube park and the ice skating. We are consistently upgrading different areas of the business. We have a new outdoor dining area, recently updated kitchen, a viewing platform at the tube park, and significant landscaping developments. We strive to keep the area well maintained.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, and we do hope to see you at Tekapo Springs again this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    315
    119
    32
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful staff best attraction in Lake Tekapo”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although not as good as some other hot springs we have been to around the world, our experience at the hot pools was made fantastic by the friendly and helpful staff, especially Christine.
We arrived very late in the day, the pools were still very clean. We spent a couple of hours relaxing in this oasis after a 5 hour drive and enjoyed every minute.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Embarrassingly bad, and expensive.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you have been to thermal springs in Japan or Turkey or Russia (or even Maruia springs in the South Island) you will not enjoy this place at all. I don't really understand what the investor was thinking when they signed off on the well-considered and well-executed garden and landscaping being mixed with swimming-pool light blue tubs of concrete. It just doesn't match!

1. The hot pools are not really 'hot'... fact I would say that they are all below body temperature. not once did I get that deep relaxing feeling of soaking in a hot spring. The showers were actually hotter than the outdoor pools.
2. The shower area and lockers are industrial and not welcoming at all. It feels like being in a high-school gym changing room. The showers are on a 15 sec automatic timer which was incredibly annoying and the lack of anything to wash yourself with was just plain cheap and nasty.
3. No towels? For $20 entry fee... you gotta be kidding me.

I am a New Zealander and I am disappointed at how poorly this attraction has been executed and is being run. I have travelled to many hot springs around the world, because I love bathing in thermal springs (even in artificially heated springs when the operator has added the heat and the minerals) I feel sorry for any foreign tourists who having experienced the many great things in the immediate surroundings decide to relax in some hot pools, only to be disappointed and losing all the positive feelings that they have built up for Tekapo and the Mackenzie. My advice to management is send a couple of senior staff to Japan and USA and Russia to see how it really should be done. Then lift your game so that you don't get people like me telling you how to create a good business.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TekapoSpringsNZ, General Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Band Breviewer

Naturally we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time or see anything positive about Tekapo Springs. The facility which also provides other attractions, skating rink, tube park, café and day spa has been built by a single investor who is passionate about this area. The product has been acclaimed nationally and internationally and has been recognised by the New Zealand Tourism Industry as a Silver level qaulmark attraction. We have also been awarded a Gold environmental award as well, not to mention being finalists in the Tourism New Zealand Awards. While we continually strive to improve our product we are not out to emulate or copy Japanese, Turkish or Russian Spa’s. This facility is set in one of New Zealand’s most exquisite environments. Our entry price is competitive by New Zealand standards and we have had almost neglible complaint from people about this. As for towels, yes they are available at a small hire cost – I do not know of any facility that offers towels as right of entry. I am not sure I can appease your experience but I have to say that we are all very proud of what we have here in Tekapo.

Cathy Hemsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The hot springs are in a nice setting but you really can't see that from the pools. Take your own towel, soap and shampoo or it will cost you. Mind you a towel is $5NZ and shampoo/soap $2NZ. That is on top of the $20NZ entrance fee. The hottest pool was warm but not hot. Maybe later in the day it warms up but first thing (10:30am) the hot pool was just nice and warm, but not hot.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lowlinfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tubing Fun and Relaxing Hot Pools”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived at Lake Tekapo late afternoon and didnt get to Tekapo Springs until 4.55pm for our children (aged 9 and 11) to go tubing. After asking at reception it turns out tubing closed at 5pm but they kindly kept it open for our children for an extra hour which we were extremely grateful for. The kids had a ball. The young German staff member overseeing the tubing was very helpful, friendly and kept the kids happily spinning.
We went back to our campervan for dinner and returned later for a swim in the hot springs which was divine. Beautiful setting and a number of pools of different temperatures to relax in. Enjoyed a bit of peace and quiet in the adult only pool (sorry kids).
Very helpful staff!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing