We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better, but glad we went.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tekapo Springs

Tekapo Springs
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare to ride the new 11 metre high - 53 metre long TRIPPO water slide in summer. There is also an artificial summer tube. Enjoy a treatment at the Day Spa or relax in our fully licensed cafe onsite.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Could be better, but glad we went.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The whole facility is well maintained and many of the things we didn't like are inherent in an outdoor pool facility such as dead flies and leaves floating around.
However, the lifeguards are attentive and friendly, the weather was great, the views are even better and the pools were nice and warm. I recommend this as a once only experience however, as it cost $20 to get in which is more than you normally pay in New Zealand, although in fairness most other facilities are subsidised by taxes. Other spa facilities that cost this much normally give privacy and are warmer.

Give this place a go, it's not bad.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sv3nn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TekapoSpringsNZ, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting Tekapo Springs and taking the time to post a review.
We do run very clean pools though our advanced sand filter systems. Being outdoor pools the occasional bug and leaf floating around is inevitable, our life guards do their very best to insure these are scooped out of the pool frequently. We run frequent promotions for our hot pools and other attractions which further increase the value our customers get, so keep an eye out as we would love to have you return.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    291
    104
    26
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great way to relax in Tekapo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

A very hot day and wondered if a visit to a spa facility was the right thing to do, we'll it certainly was. Three lovely pools ranging from 37 deg which were just correct for relaxing and in lovely surroundings and superb views over the lakes and mountains. Excellent coffee shop with snacks also on site and the tube run looked good albeit l did not participate, it was busy however. Well worth a trip and very reasonable as your wrist band is valid all day so come back later to enjoy even more time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithbath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TekapoSpringsNZ, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for stoping in at Tekapo Springs. Unfortunately with the unusual weather conditions New Zealand has experienced over the Christmas/New Years break we have had to delay the opening of one of the pools for an hour or so from time to time to ensure the other pools are at adequate temperatures. Our heating system is very environmentally friendly and with unexpected weather changes we can be forced delay the opening of one of the pools on rear ocasions. Regarding the cafe I am sorry there was no counter food, this is a busy period for us and the counter food that is freshly baked daly must have sold out by the time you were in the cafe. We really appreciate your feedback on this and will take it into consideration as we strive to consistently improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great oasis on a cold summer's day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Summer holiday, cold and rainy - the hot springs made a great refuge! Three pools (only 2 open but that was plenty) lovely temps seemed v clean. Changing rooms a bit cramped and short on fails cities (only 2 toilets in ladies changing room, one of which included wheelchair shower so bit queues) and the cafe had no counter food out which seemed v short sighted given the fact it was peak season and weather suitable for hot pools. Cafe a bit average overall actually...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mares71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Showers hotter than hot springs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

per hour charge. 3 pools of varying temperatures to choose from. The temperature of the water was nothing (not as hot) compared to other hot springs in asia like Japan or Korea. Pools were full of flies. The temperature of the shower was even higher than that of the pools, it was a little unbearable. Would have rather gone to Lake Tekapo for a refreshing dip in the icy waters (for free).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phoonps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TekapoSpringsNZ, General Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience at Tekapo Springs. There is a fine balance to please our large customer base between having the pools ‘too hot’ and having them ‘comfortable’ during the summer months. The business was originally built as a winter park and I can guarantee the temperatures during our colder months are kept higher. However, we are developing a 12 month product and taking into account feedback from a lot of people, there is a general preference to have the pools slightly cooler during the warmer months. In fact we have been asked when ill a cold pool be available? The Top pool ‘Tekapo’ we aim to keep at 39 degrees even in summer (up to 41 in winter).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having visited a few hot pools before and seen the leaflets and advertisements for the springs I had high expectations but unfortunately was bitterly disappointed. The pools felt like a children s playground rather than somewhere to relax. We decided to also buy tickets to use the sauna and steam room only to find that the steam room was out of order - something which we should have been told about before buying the tickets in my opinion. All in all a disappointing experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ali3smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TekapoSpringsNZ, General Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Throughout the Christmas/New Year period we experienced high bather volume as a result of the unsettled weather. I guess this is a problem, as a business, we like to have. However, we keep one of our three pools “Tekapo” as an adults only pool, so that those without children have the choice to sit and relax in a child free zone. In regard to our Steam Room, I sincerely apologise our staff did not make you aware of the problems we had with it. We are awaiting parts from overseas and while it does operate, we have elected to err on the side of safety as temperatures have periodically been getting too high for comfort. All going well, this will be resolved by the end of the month. You were well within your rights to request a refund for this error.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing