We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Cottages
singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We booked one night at the Rowan cottage and upon checked in, we were surprised that we were upgraded to Mina cottage. The cottage was clean and spacious. It is located about 100 metres from the Church of the Good Shepherd. As it was so near, we took a stroll after dinner and breakfast to take some wonderful pictures of the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3yj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on my own - very nice accom and clean tidy and cosy with everything clean and working.
The staff were very caring and curtious. It was very cold and all the heaters worked - blankets. The view over the trees and gardens are fabulous - will stay their again. Thanks.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 63annie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Pottingshed for only one night and would have loved to stay for another night! Loved our cozy little cottage which was equipped with all the amenities such as heater, washroom & shower, a small kitchenette, a small sofa and a table. It was just nice for us and we loved the vibrant colors of the exterior. Loved the flower garden maintained by the owner Amena, and we were greeted by very friendly Steve when we arrived. Just a few mins walk to the Church of The Good Shepherd, which was great as we went out stargazing at night. Worth the price and would definitely recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank misspetites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

During our 2 weeks holiday in New Zealand, Lake Tekapo Cottages is the best accommodation for everything, only 200 meters distance to Church of Good Shepherd, very friendly manager and good desk service, very clean bedrooms/kitchen/bathroom, and good value for money.

Room Tip: Prefect location to see Church of Good Shepherd, and access to village easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent a single night in the Potting Shed in November 2013. What a gorgeous, charming little building it is! For us, it was a perfect, homely little spot to spend our first night in New Zealand. We were hoping to try some of the authentic home made Thai food on our stay, but unfortunately the cook was unwell, but the owners directed us to a great spot just up the road for some awesome Japanese food with a spectacular view. We appreciated the free WiFi and the beautiful gardens. There are several cottages available, but all are really close to the Lake Tekapo church and it's an easy walk over the bridge into town as well. Lake Tekapo is a gorgeous spot, not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellieTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the potting shed. Its the smallest of the cottages. I thought it was cute and nice to stay somewhere different. Close to town. Clean. Friendly owners. Beautiful gardens. Worth $95 a night!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank builder4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in Rowan for 1 night. Cute cottage, place is clean but some parts need a face lift.
We have 4 ppl but main house got only 1 double bed and 1 single. The children refused to sleep in the other 2 single beds in the small separated barn as they find it spooky, so we have to squeeze in.

Room got chilly at night (even in Dec) and the portable heater doesn't help at all.

Excellent point is its proximity to the lake and Church of Shepherd.

Value for its price but there may be other better choices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Cottages

Property: Lake Tekapo Cottages
Address: 12 Sealy Street | PO Box 133, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tekapo Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Tekapo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing