We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute cottage, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Cute cottage, great location”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in Tui Cottage for two nights, had everything we needed for our stopover visit. The host was lovely, giving us good advice on where to eat in town. The heat pump worked a treat on the frosty mornings and the bed, while the duvet cover was a little naf, was very comfortable. Surroundings were lovely and we even made friends with a local cat on the deck. Wireless internet was fantastic, esp with the spotty coverage we sometimes get in smaller nz towns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohcodyrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We are staying in Tui Cottage which is a studio cottage with a small kitchenette and bathroom. Shower is great. Good tv reception for hubby to watch the V8's. Nice view of mountains from the deck. Very quiet. Arrived in the evening and it wasnt a problem as owners live onsite. Very friendly. We didnt bring doggie this time but dogs are welcome and there is plenty of space for them outside and rabbits to run after. Bring tea, coffee and sugar if you want a hot beverage as it is not provided in studio but we did get a small bottle of milk on checkin. I dont intend to cook while on my mini-break but there is a microwave, jug and toaster if you want to make your own breakfast. According to the visitors book folk have been staying here since 2007 so there is a bit of wear and tear but if you want Peppers Resort then go stay there and pay their prices. This is a good value option especially for dog owners. Will definitely return in winter so hubby can go skiing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucystarbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose Rowan Cottage at Lake Tekapo, and although not modern and a little run down, the double and single beds provided were both comfortable, the most important thing! Comfy Lounge and seats, also good flat screen tv, free wireless internet and cooking facilities, though no salt and pepper or potato peeler provided, but after mentioning these things, Stephen only too happy to provide. You can walk to the church and lake from here and also into town if you wished. Stephen made some phone calls for me free of charge, very kindly. Definitely not an upmarket 5 star accommodatin, but If in Lake Tekapo again, would choose this accommodation for the privacy and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhardina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Not a very warm welcome and we were asked to pay for our 3 night stay right away but the credit card machine didn't work. We were told we would have to draw the money out of the local ATM and use cash. Before we left we asked them to try the card again without any luck. This was a really good quiet location for visiting Lake Tekapo. The discription furnishings to a very high standard is not quite as we would describe it but adequate for a 2 or 3 night stay. The bed was very comfortable. It didn't help when we were woken up on our last morning by a strimmer which kept going until we left at 10am! We don't think it was the owner but still very annoying and nothing done about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodilly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
514 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night on our way to Queenstown. Simple , basic little cottage with a kitchenette . Great shower !! Good value for money. Close by various place to have dinner but please note that at 21 kitchen close everywhere

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were booked at this place to stay for one night while touring the South Island. Upon arrival, we were told that they had double booked us and that were getting moved to a B&B at the owner's expense (which was lovely of them to organise). The only problem was that we were travelling with a toddler and had on purpose booked self contained accomodation with a spare bed. Instead we were moved to a B&B with the smallest bedroom (no bed for the toddler) and no private living space. It was rather disappointing for us and would have preferred to have been told of this ahead of time so could have organised a more appropriate accomodation. Our experience in lake tekapo as a result was pretty average and we left at 7am the next morning as we had no desire to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmelbvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute booking for us as our original accommodation was cancelled. What a stroke of luck as the cottage was great! We booked the Potting Shed which looked like a garden shed from the outside but inside it was charming and had everything we needed. There was a TV with Sky channels, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster and a small amount of crockery. You couldn't actually cook here but enough for breakfast and to make lunch. The ensuite bathroom had a good shower and there were plenty of towels. On check in the owner gave us a bottle of milk and wifi access codes. He also recommended the Japanese restaurant for dinner which we went to and it was delicious. We had a great stay in Tekapo and would recommend the cottages as good value accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Cottages

Property: Lake Tekapo Cottages
Address: 12 Sealy Street | PO Box 133, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tekapo Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tekapo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing