We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tekapo Heights

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tekapo Heights
Ranked #3 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This would have to be the best B&B we have stayed in.
Large comfortable top rate rooms. Our room opened out onto a courtyard with table and chairs and STUNNING views.
Delicious full breakfast and the best hosts in the world, so helpful and great conversation while we sat at breakfast with this stunning view to look out at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
83
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed in numerous B & B 's in half a dozen countries. Tekapo Heights comes so close to getting the 5 stars.. .modern, stylish, clean just misses out on the finer details. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: our room had the bathroom across the hall, although not a big issue for us it could be for some peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the 'Heights' on the last stage of our journey back to Christchurch from Milford Sound and were treated to a great stay. Tucked away in Sam's Place Jenny and Steve have created a lovely haven. Our room was airy and complete with all that we would want during our stay including a large and well appointed shower room - the best shower of the whole trip! Originally we were going to leave early and not have breakfast but changed our minds and the small extra cost was worth every penny. Tasty food freshly cooked and presented in a lovely room overlooking the lake and mountains all accompanied with a great chance to chat. Thanks again for the hospitality.

Room Tip: It would appear that all the rooms had their advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coyote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We also thought we were going to an hotel but the friendly atmosphere and lovely rooms soon made us realise we had made a good choice. One room had the most amazing shower with a radio in it! Breakfast was really nice and our hosts were friendly and informative. We did have views of the lake and from the dining table magical views over the lake and the alps. Our rooms were spacious and well-appointed with wonderful comfy beds.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our first B&B stay on our N Zealand holiday and not sure what to expect. Have to say it was far superior to any UK B&B. The accommodation was great with a good sized bedroom with a fridge. The bathroom was spotless and all mod cons. View from window was out over the lake. The hosts were great and couldn't fault the cooked breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 320KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
237 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very roomy, modern house situated two minutes above the centre of Tekapo with fine views of the lake below. Well-furnished with a comfortable bed and nice shower.

Quite hilly so not handy for 'town centre" (such as it is) but good view of lake.

Continental or cooked breakfast was offered - we chose Continental but were a little disappointed with the single toast and single coffee offered. Otherwise fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My first time to stay in a B&B, the room is clean, host trying their best to make our stay comfortable, although I'm not used to a shared living area kind of accommodation, but the sound proofing was quite good, at least I didnt hear anything from the next room. Great location although not right at the lake front, but still in walking distance. Lovely dogs in the garden too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryba9vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#8 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Heights

Property: Tekapo Heights
Address: 2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tekapo Heights 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tekapo Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing