We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tekapo Heights

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tekapo Heights
Ranked #4 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
230 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very roomy, modern house situated two minutes above the centre of Tekapo with fine views of the lake below. Well-furnished with a comfortable bed and nice shower.

Quite hilly so not handy for 'town centre" (such as it is) but good view of lake.

Continental or cooked breakfast was offered - we chose Continental but were a little disappointed with the single toast and single coffee offered. Otherwise fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
80
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My first time to stay in a B&B, the room is clean, host trying their best to make our stay comfortable, although I'm not used to a shared living area kind of accommodation, but the sound proofing was quite good, at least I didnt hear anything from the next room. Great location although not right at the lake front, but still in walking distance. Lovely dogs in the garden too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryba9vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

i booked months ago and paid in advance only to find when i showed up that the room was overbooked and they had booked me at another place- which was nice but far from the lake. Not the best experience after an overnight 10 hour flight and a few hours of driving. Booked via agoda so not sure it was agora or the B&B's fault- either way they should improve their system so that bookings through agoda are not double booked. Apparently they sent me an email 2 days before my stay which went into junk folder. it offered me the alt booking or a change- in peak season how can you get a decent alternate place two days before your stay date? i have no review on the B&B itself but i would recommend double checking your booking the day before u are set to stay there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank singhalshilpaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is one of the best place to stay in Lake Tekapo. Excellent room, spacious, clean and tidy, well equipped and great views. The lawn with the lake view refreshes you. Having a cup of coffee on sofa in the lawn with a chat with the wonderful owner is best thing abt this place. I recommend stay here. And how can I forget the pet dog of the owner. You would want to take it back home.

Room Tip: Take rooms with Lake View. Would love them. Though rooms with Mountain View are good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitang_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Rooms were comfortable and modern. Beautiful views of Lake Tekapo from the room. Worth it to stop and have continental breakfast in the morning -- coffee, tea, cereal, fruit, toast and spreads and a chance to chat with the owners. The owners' extremely friendly and adorable cats and dogs will try to come in and sleep with you if you let them :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This BnB was the a great place for my wife and I to stay before we headed back to Christchurch.

We really enjoyed the beautiful lake and there were several great restaurants and hot pools in the area.

The place itself was very spacious and modern. The bathroom was shared but it also huge. The shower was great.

Our hosts were very nice. Breakfast was nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOnPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frisbeetraveller
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a beautiful little b&b and despite the slight dodgy weather the views of the mountains and lake were stunning! We left in the morning completely relaxed and refreshed.
BEWARE - the owner does have two small dogs.... watch out as they are completely adorable and you will want to take them home with you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frisbeetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Heights

Property: Tekapo Heights
Address: 2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tekapo Heights 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tekapo Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing