We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tekapo Heights
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aorangi Motel(Fairlie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
88
29
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
29
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcats and dogscontinental breakfast in the morningmodern showerwelcomed us warmlyseparate entrancespectacular viewsnew zealandsatellite tvexcellent roomobservatory tourone nightbeautiful accommodationwalk into townvery comfortable staycomfortable bedheated floors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 126 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in winter, in the room without lake views. Not a problem for us, since the B&B is only ten minutes walk from the lake. Lovely room with underfloor heating in the bathroom! Breakfast was delicious and the couple loved talking about the area. They also have a couple cats and two small, quiet dogs (who aren't allowed in the guest areas) who are a nice treat to have around if you miss pets from back home. The place is full of local NZ items, and the walk to the lake is lovely. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife booked our stay at Tekapo Heights through booking.com. It is in a great location, only a 10 minute walk from town but high enough up to have great views of the lake and surrounds. Our room was nice, with an en-suite that includes a shower with a radio built in (that I couldn't get to work, but still cool!).
The hosts, Jenny and Steve, are very friendly and the breakfast was very nice, with an outstanding view out of the picture window in their lounge area.
The only downside for us, hence no 5 stars, was the fact that they had pets, 2 dogs and 4 cats. We love animals, and they weren't in the room so that wasn't an issue but I am allergic to short haired cats so it would have been nice if we'd known beforehand.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view (I think one of the rooms doesn't), and not all rooms have en-suites.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markkellaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were delighted at this beautifully appointed room overlooking the rooftops towards the lake. It is a 5 minute walk from the centre of Tekapo so we took advantage of the scenery in the early morning to get some fabulous photos by the lake. Also near to the Observatory with night tours - incredible!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank godoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well appointed rooms and good shower, hospitable and helpful hosts, good breakfast. No shared lounge area for guests, though the garden was available. A fair walk uphill from the restaurants.

Good views of the lake from two of the bedrooms and the dining room, unfortunately the third bedroom doesn't have a view worth mentioning. Three of us stayed in the third room using a fold out bed in addition to the double but the room's really not big enough.

Choose carefully and this is a fine B&B.

Room Tip: See main review
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wow!! What a wonderful place. The views from the bedroom and especially from the dining area over the lake were absolutely stunning. The room was very well equipped with tea, coffee making facilities/ fridge/ flat screen t.v./ separate room to store cases and hang clothes.There was a huge bathroom with a very spacious shower./ hair-dryer/ heated towel rails. Outside of the French doors from the bedroom opened up to your own seating area that took in the wonderful view across the lake. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice . Fruit juices/ various teas and coffees/ muesli and cereals/ well cooked full breakfast/ toast and jams. A good start to the day. The hosts Steve and Jenny were very hospitable and on hand to give any advice as to were or what to do in Tekapo. Their friendly pets too came to greet you. 2 dogs and 1 cat. We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our holiday in New Zealand and what a standard for all the other B & B's to come up to. Would definitely recommend Tekapo Heights to anyone wishing to visit this area. Well done Steve & Jenny- keep on the good work you do. We cannot praise this place enough.

Room Tip: Stay in the Orion Room if available. You will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews