We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome and Great Views”
Review of Tekapo Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tekapo Heights
Ranked #3 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very clean and friendly without being intrusive. What a great view over lake and mountains and to sit with that view at breakfast makes eating and talking almost an unnecessary intrusion except for the fact that the breakfast is great too!
Only issues are that it is a bit further from restaurants than we thought and we could have done with more pillows but that is being picky and we would have no hesitation in recommending others to feel happy about booking here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiveratsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband, son and I spent two wonderful nights at this beautiful B&B. Lovely, friendly hosts that were welcoming and comfortable to be with. Fantastic room, great ensuite, large bed that provided a great sleep along with the quiet surroundings. Stunning views of the lake while having a delicious breakfast including amazing home-made toast. Very close to town centre also. This is a place I would recommend and wouldn't hesitate to come and stay again. Martin, Angela and Luke - Christchurch

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelacurtain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I guess I'll mention the good things 1st - the room & bathroom were well equiped, elec blanket, heater, fridge, large bath etc. The breakfast was well cooked, nice china-wear & the house was clean & spacious & pretty. Only a short walk to town centre. Jinny was a little reserved but pleasnat enough once she came out of her shell. The side of Lake Tekapo on our way out of town was stunning. Incredible scenery once you left the town. The main disappointment for us was that the B&B did not seem to be as good as it looked on their web site, nor our hosts that friendly. There was a view of the lake (far away) from our Pegasus room but it was hidden mostly by ugly buildings. The bathroom was across the hall so you had to get dressed & leave the bedroom; not only that but it did not lock on the outside, so we felt uncomfortable about leaving any toiletries in it (eg expensive perfumes, & medicines/personal stuff) & had to cart them in & out every time. On our arrival when Steve met us at the door he just ticked us off on a peice of paper he had in his hand - no smiles or greetings like "how was your journey?" etc. I felt like a patient in a hospital & he a disinterested orderly. There were 5 cats & two of them sneaked in to our bedroom uninvited & sat on the bed on my jacket. Personally I did not mind (they were gorgeous cats) but I know if my friend who is highly allergic to cats had been there she would have freaked out. The little dog tried to get in too through the french windows from the garden. At breaky the milk was like water. In the hpouse the town noise was audible at night.The quality of food in the town's restaurants wasn't that good & the town itself was to us a bit tacky.

Room Tip: None of the rooms truly over looked the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElizabethIrePerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This was our first night in NZ and WHAT and intro. LOVED the accomodation, location, attractions, food and the hospitality was exceptional. Definately one to go back to.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights, booked after reading Tripadvisor reviews, we we were not disappointed.
Large spacious rooms and enormous en-suite bathroom full of hi-tech gizmos.
Tremendous views over the Azure Lake Tekapo. Ideal for the Church of the Good Shepherd and Mnt Cook.
Excellent hosts. Super breakfasts.
Away from the busy (by NZ Standards) main road so nice and quiet.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeNorthumberlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This is a beautiful B&B. Situated on a small hillside overlooking the lake & its magnificently-coloured water. It is modern & decorated very well. The owners are very friendly * the whole impression is of staying in a friend's house. The rooms are spacious & very well appointed with modern expensive-looking facilities. The owners are only too willing for you to share their living room with them. A good & filling cooked breakfast is available.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinHaydock_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer. The town seemed to have lots of personality. Steve and Jenny were very friendly and fun to be around. The breakfast was fantastic. They have a nice view of the lake and the pegasus room and bathroom were modern, very clean, and very comfortable. We loved all the animals and we're happy they had wireless internet available too.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Heights

Address: 2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $211 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tekapo Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tekapo Heights for superb accommodation offering stunning views of the mountains and Lake Tekapo. We have just refurbished all our guest rooms with tasteful colours and new furnishings for your convenience and a more luxurious experience. Our Super King size beds have been restyled with new bedding and Dream Lodge pillows for your added comfort. Updated technology with new tvs in three of our rooms and internet for all our guests including Netflix/Movies for your leisure and enjoyment. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with spectacular views or step outside and take advantage of our outdoor seating areas or stroll around the garden and take in those breath-taking views of the Lake and Mountains from the deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tekapo Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing