We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the Kikorangi room for one night last week. The room was well appointed and very clean, and quite as was the bathroom area. The view through the sliding glass door, over the shared deck is amazing. Lake Tekapo is a gorgeous sight to wake up to.
The is also a private entrance which made it east to come and go without interrupting our hosts.
Speaking of...Chris and Colin were lovely hosts, told good stories about the area, and had terrific recommendations. Breakfast consisted of fresh bread/toast with a selection of jams and manuka honey, as well as fruit and Chris' delicious homemade yogurt.
We had dinner at the Japanese restaurant on Chris' suggestion, and really enjoyed the tempura dishes and sake. We also took her advice and walked to town(20-25 minutes) past the incredibly picturesque old stone Good Shepard Church on the waterfront.
The walk home was most SPECTACULAR, the clear skies made for the most amazing star gazing experience.
Thank you Chris and Colin! Hope to visit again someday soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC1474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for one night, and the hosts Chris and Colin were extremely helpful and friendly. The views of the Lake were stunning. Slightly far out of town but that didn't matter for one night. Breakfast was all home made bread and jam etc

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We only stayed one night but we wished it was a month. Everything was perfect and the hosts could not have done more for us during our time with them. Additionally it was an excellent location. Take the Air Safaris flight for a magnificent view of the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinmaclaren, Owner at Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed our wonderful environment. We hope you will return at some stage.

Colin & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Glacier Rock was our first experience of New Zealand B&Bs and set an extremely high standard. Chris and Colin looked after us very well with a very comfortable room and a sumptuous breakfast. The views over Lake Tekapo were breathtaking and Tekapo itself is a great centre for visiting the area including Mt Cook.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Glacier Rock is about a 5 minute drive away from Lake Tekapo center. We felt very comfortable with the hosts Chris and Colin:
-clean room with direct access to the terrace an a wonderful view of Lake Tekapo and spacious bathroom
-freshly baked bread for breakfast

One highlight besindes the Lake was the incredible night sky. We have never seen so many stars, the milky way with such an intensity before.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was in a quiet residential neighborhood, less than a 5 minute drive from the “center” of town. The hosts Chris and Colin were very friendly, knowledgeable and made my wife and I feel very welcomed. They seemed to genuinely enjoy having us as guests. We even had a special request which they accommodated very willingly.

Colin designed the house himself, and it was well-suited to serve as a B&B. The guest units were on one side, with a separate stair, patio, breakfast room, and bathrooms. Such an arrangement allowed us to exit/enter without disturbing our hosts, and gave us the sense of our privacy and own space, despite being in their house. The house itself was very bright, rustic and warm with beautiful views to the lake and mountains. Free Wi-fi was also provided which was greatly appreciated!

Chris prepared a delicious breakfast including cereals, freshly-baked bread, homemade yogurt and fresh fruits. After a few days in motels, it was certainly relaxing and refreshing to enjoy a leisurely breakfast in our private dining room while taking in the view.

The house, hosts and breakfast all combined to make this our favorite stay during our 2-week trip in New Zealand. We would recommend Glacier Rock to anyone who enjoys the more personable experience of a B&B. Thanks again Chris and Colin!

Room Tip: The Kikorangi room is the larger of the two guest rooms, with a direct entry from the patio and a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelerfromthe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very friendly owners and they are very helpful. Good breakfast in a nice room with an excellent view over the lake and the mountains. Rooms are good with attached bathroom. Chart for observing the wonderful starry nights as well as a selection of good books.

Room Tip: there are only two rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 17 in Lake Tekapo
423 reviews
1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35 Lochinver Avenue | P.O. Box 109, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $124 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing