We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Exceptional B&B”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We only stayed one night but we wished it was a month. Everything was perfect and the hosts could not have done more for us during our time with them. Additionally it was an excellent location. Take the Air Safaris flight for a magnificent view of the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinmaclaren, Owner at Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed our wonderful environment. We hope you will return at some stage.

Colin & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Glacier Rock was our first experience of New Zealand B&Bs and set an extremely high standard. Chris and Colin looked after us very well with a very comfortable room and a sumptuous breakfast. The views over Lake Tekapo were breathtaking and Tekapo itself is a great centre for visiting the area including Mt Cook.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Glacier Rock is about a 5 minute drive away from Lake Tekapo center. We felt very comfortable with the hosts Chris and Colin:
-clean room with direct access to the terrace an a wonderful view of Lake Tekapo and spacious bathroom
-freshly baked bread for breakfast

One highlight besindes the Lake was the incredible night sky. We have never seen so many stars, the milky way with such an intensity before.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was in a quiet residential neighborhood, less than a 5 minute drive from the “center” of town. The hosts Chris and Colin were very friendly, knowledgeable and made my wife and I feel very welcomed. They seemed to genuinely enjoy having us as guests. We even had a special request which they accommodated very willingly.

Colin designed the house himself, and it was well-suited to serve as a B&B. The guest units were on one side, with a separate stair, patio, breakfast room, and bathrooms. Such an arrangement allowed us to exit/enter without disturbing our hosts, and gave us the sense of our privacy and own space, despite being in their house. The house itself was very bright, rustic and warm with beautiful views to the lake and mountains. Free Wi-fi was also provided which was greatly appreciated!

Chris prepared a delicious breakfast including cereals, freshly-baked bread, homemade yogurt and fresh fruits. After a few days in motels, it was certainly relaxing and refreshing to enjoy a leisurely breakfast in our private dining room while taking in the view.

The house, hosts and breakfast all combined to make this our favorite stay during our 2-week trip in New Zealand. We would recommend Glacier Rock to anyone who enjoys the more personable experience of a B&B. Thanks again Chris and Colin!

Room Tip: The Kikorangi room is the larger of the two guest rooms, with a direct entry from the patio and a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerfromthe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regenstauf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very friendly owners and they are very helpful. Good breakfast in a nice room with an excellent view over the lake and the mountains. Rooms are good with attached bathroom. Chart for observing the wonderful starry nights as well as a selection of good books.

Room Tip: there are only two rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Selected this B&B because it was architecturally designed by the owner and were not disappointed - well designed room and facilities with thoughtful touches matched by the welcome. Lovely breakfast overlooking what must be one of the most spectacular views in this land of views.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pointer0038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here the night before our wedding and couldn't have picked a better place to start our special day. We woke up to delicious homemade bread, which we ate whilst enjoying fantastic views over Lake Tekapo. Our hosts Chris and Colin were very warm and friendly and just helped to make it a lovely morning, which meant a lot as we were there without our families. The room itself (we stayed in the one with a private deck) was really spacious and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
115 reviews
1.0 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 35 Lochinver Avenue | P.O. Box 109, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing