We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with nice view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very friendly owners and they are very helpful. Good breakfast in a nice room with an excellent view over the lake and the mountains. Rooms are good with attached bathroom. Chart for observing the wonderful starry nights as well as a selection of good books.

Room Tip: there are only two rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Selected this B&B because it was architecturally designed by the owner and were not disappointed - well designed room and facilities with thoughtful touches matched by the welcome. Lovely breakfast overlooking what must be one of the most spectacular views in this land of views.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Pointer0038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here the night before our wedding and couldn't have picked a better place to start our special day. We woke up to delicious homemade bread, which we ate whilst enjoying fantastic views over Lake Tekapo. Our hosts Chris and Colin were very warm and friendly and just helped to make it a lovely morning, which meant a lot as we were there without our families. The room itself (we stayed in the one with a private deck) was really spacious and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our recent holiday to New Zealand. Fantastic views of the township and lake and a very modern new stone home which was very clean. Lovely couple and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night, en route to the south of South Island. We arrived late after a long drive from Christchurch, but you wouldn't have known from the warm welcome we got from Chris. The room was good, the bathroom too, and the view (this was from the room with the deck) was outstanding: out over Lake Tekapo and the surrounding mountains.
You'll need a car here: it's a good mile into town for dinner. Breakfast was continental, with delicious home-baked bread, and at a time that suited us. My only quibble is that it was a bit (I mean a bit, not a lot) on the pricy side. We'd happily stay there again; it really is very good

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

You are guaranteed a wonderful welcome. Excellent continental breakfast, delicious fruit and jams. Room was one of the smallest that we had, but was only there one night so not an issue.
Uphill walk from the centre of town, so a car is useful but that is usual anyway.

Mount John and the views were recommended and gave us great views and photo opportunities. The Church of the Good Shepherd is nearby and a must to see.

Thoroughly enjoyed our time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne_sayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Although we were just stopping for one night we were very glad that we chose to stay at the Glacier Rock B and B. The views from the room, sundeck and breakfast room were amazing and the breakfast was delicious. Nothing better than waking up to the smell of freshly baked bread! Chris was an excellent hostess and gave us great advice about the local restaurants (we thoroughly recommend Mackenzies). With our own separate access to the bedroom we felt we could come and go easily without disturbing our hosts and Chris gave us plenty of space whilst being available if needed. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this B and B to anyone.

Room Tip: Although the Kikorangi room is more expensive it has fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandBBeardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marie Therese Bed & Breakfast
Marie Therese Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35 Lochinver Avenue | P.O. Box 109, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $117 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing