We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy, clean & beautiful”
Review of Parkbrae Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkbrae Estate
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cosy, clean & beautiful”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

i loved my stay at the church house totally. as what the pictures on their website shows. unblocked views of the lake & the church. 2 rooms with a toilet, a living area & the kitchen. utensils and washing liquid was available (we cooked a meal).

very cosy place yet clean. wifi was really bad (however i was not keen on spending my time surfing the net so it was fine with me). the beds were comfortable and i enjoyed be able to view the stars on my bed. lake tekapo is absolutely beautiful and you need to stay a need to completely enjoy its beauty after the main hoard of day tourists are gone.

would definitely recommend friends and family to book church house. there are a few other apartments in beside church house that belongs to parkbrae; however, i would still recommend church house for its unblocked views.

do note that the church house is located on the top of the house (i.e. 2nd floor) and a flight of steps from your car is needed before you can get it. perhaps not suitable for people who needs walking assistance.

you can walk to the main part of lake tekapo town but we had a car and there were totally no issues for us. its like a 2min drive (3 turns and you are there).

it was expensive but it was definitely money well spent!

Room Tip: church house definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We couldn't agree more as Church House does have the best views in all of Tekapo. The WIFI is an issue and we are trying to find ways to strengthen the signal... we have a beautiful garden but that is the main reason for a poor signal. At least you had the views :-) our prices are very similar to our competitors but I can understand it does make a difference when on holidays and with so much to do!
Hope you can return to our little paradise by the lake.
Until then, all the best.
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the Opera House, It was an amazing cottage with log fire, well kept and comfortable. The view was out of this world, we got some wonderful pictures of the lake from there.
We got breakfast catered through the owners and the town was so close for all other meals. Kids enjoyed the 2 levels and the nice balcony. there was ample garden area to run about as well. Its just a walk across the road to the Church as well as the Lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay as Opera House is definitely one of our favorites! Make sure you find some time from your busy life in Singapore to and visit us again.
All the best,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed on the middle floor of the Garden Tower - Amazing view of the Good Shepherd Church. Rooms were spacious, clean - great shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wifi didn't work in the Tower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmm00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the to write such a lovely review.
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Parkbrae and apologies for poor WIFI connection. It is a complimentary service that we offer and we are looking at ways to improve it. Corrugated iron and foliage are the 2 main factors which decrease the signal... and we are surrounded by garden! Which we love but we need to find a solution. Hopefully we will very soon!
Wish you all the best for 2014 and hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed over here on the way to Chrischurch. We booked Opera house but we were given another property to stay saying that it's their best property. It seemed like they had given that property to somebody else. When we asked, she said that there's a issue with the booking system and that may have caused it but it was apparent that they've done it deliberately. Not good!!!

Location was superb overlooking the church that a lot of people come to stargazing. Property wasn't that clean and heating was terrible in lounge, rooms and bathrooms. Bedding wasn't that comfortable. I wouldn't stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you so much Nuwan for taking the time to write your review.
As explained at reception I did have issues with the booking system which had crashed as I showed you and the property you were upgraded to is our best one. Aldourie Lodge is loved by everyone as you can see from the reviews! I am really sorry if it didn't meet your expectations. I would have preferred that you had pointed out the cleanliness to me on the morning of departure so I could mention it to the cleaning company. I am truly disappointed you found the rate expensive for 3 bedroom property with 2 bathrooms; commercial kitchen; spacious lounge with gas fire; TV room with open fire. Private parking and stunning views to the Church and Lake. Especially when I offered a discount at a cheaper rate for that property and even lower than the one you had preferred (based on one night 5 guests).
I do hope your stay at Parkbrae didn't hinder your overall experience in New Zealand and that you had an amazing holiday with your friends and family.
All the best,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the cottage in 2013 and witnessed the first blanket of snow for the season. Comfy rooms and the open log fire is a hit. Sit next to the roaring fire and watch the snow falling outside or see the local attractions without leaving the warmth of the cottage. Directly across the road is the famous lake, ( the color is out of this world), the church, the mckenzie dog statue and the snow covered mountains. Visit the observatory, a 5 minute drive or take a 30 minute drive and do a scenic helicopter flight over the mountains - well worth it. A very romantic a nd quaint home for a couple or go with friends and enjoy some of the best views in the world all year round. On site parking and helpful and friendly hosts. Do not forget to sample the local salmon- a must. Great for skiers as close to ski fields.

Room Tip: Self contained, comfortable beds. Parking available close to the house. Cottage decorated in old wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
Winter at Parkbrae is just celestial! The snow on the ground or mountains just makes it! On a sunny day nothing beats it!!
We are hoping this season to be great! So fingers crossed and hope to welcome you again.
All the best,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stay here if you can, in any of their gorgeous options. Kind, helpful proprietors; unique, comfortable accommodations; gorgeous properties, gardens, and views. The only critique is that the wifi was highly unreliable, but this place is so wonderful you shouldn't be wasting your time on the internet anyway. Step outside and soak up the view! We stayed for two nights, but I wish it had been a week or more. The town was lovely from top to bottom,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
Delighted you were able to enjoy time out in our gorgeous estate. It's a blessing to be surrounded by gardens which add to the total experience! We are working on strengthening the WIFI system as having such lush gardens although it is just magical it does hinder the signal... Hopefully our technician will come up with a brilliant idea!!
All the best and hope to see you another time!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

WHAT A LOCATION! There is no place with better views of the church - they were even better than I expected. It was such a joy to walk right from our place over to the church and walk along the water. The house is basic (decor a little tired), but has everything you need. Just like it says on the website, "If you like the all-wood interior of a traditional log cabin with unrivalled views of the lake and its iconic shoreline features, this is the cottage for you." My husband and I stayed here in December of 2011. I'd give it a rating of 3.5 if I could.

Room Tip: Church House has best location/view to the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi Laura,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your constructive and positive review. You are absolutely right! Church House does have the best views!! We are very lucky to be able to offer this property as part of our estate. Since 2011 we have changed the feel of the place; from sofas, to tables, curtains and duvees. However, it is a cabin decor and atmosphere, so that aspect remains. Hope you can come and visit some time soon.
All the best,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbrae Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbrae Estate

Property: Parkbrae Estate
Address: Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkbrae Estate is so much more than a stay... it is an experience! Preferred by so many due to its unique style cottages and units (apartments), peaceful surroundings and privileged location! No doubt the spot in Tekapo! Only a stone's throw away from the stunning turquoise lake and a few steps from the Church of Good Shepherd and Collie Dog Statue, Tekapo's best known icons!! When at Parkbrae Estate, wake up to breathtaking scenery or warm up by the fire on a cold winter night... stroll through the gardens with camera in hand soaking up the morning light... sit on the balcony with a book or a glass of the finest NZ wine...wait until the stars come out in the mesmerizing night sky and make a wish... or two... Perfect for romantic getaways, family holidays, weddings, gatherings or just an excuse to treat yourself!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing