We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view but needs a refresh”
Review of Parkbrae Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkbrae Estate
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view but needs a refresh”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This review is specific to the Garden Tower; we stayed in the upper two floors. It needs a good Spring cleaning (cobwebs in the upper rafters) and mainly a makeover. The microwave is antiquated and most of the coffee cups have seen better days. We noticed some slight damage on the outside railing as well as a trim piece on the kitchen island.

We were also a bit troubled by the number of signs posted everywhere about not taking dishes, cleaning them prior to departure, etc. It is a shame that someone was rude enough to ever steal dishes, but at the same time, it doesn't seem entirely necessary to post signs everywhere for clientele who paid what we pre-paid to stay there.

To be fair, I don't want this to be a negative review, but a constructive one. It was infinitely quiet, and we did sleep well. The view is sublime, and the gardens are beautiful. We didn't get to meet Patricia (we arrived after the office closed), but she was extremely helpful over the phone when we needed it.

A little bit would go a long way to restoring the tower and making it a more lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionInFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your constructive review.
We appreciate and welcome all opinions as it is the only we improve our service and are aware of certain maintenance issues which might escape our eye.
Coincidentally, we had a spring clean schedule for the next day which absorbed 3 hours of labor.
We do try to keep on top of most issues and apologize if standard wasn't reflected.
We hope to meet your expectations next time you come to visit.
Best wishes,
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Tekapo always takes my breath away, it's so stunningly beautiful. Once more we made use of one of Parkbrae Estates lovely cottages. This time we used 'the Doctors' retreat.
Didn't have the exciting view of Church cottage, but was more luxurious. A lovely lounge dining and 2 large comfortable bedrooms.
Nicely screened from the road and a park-like view on two sides. We had a lovely time and wished we had stayed more than 1 night. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friiskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely comments.
Always great to see familiar faces and returning guests bringing friends.
Hope you will see you again in the near future.
Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were fortunate to rent the little cottage built by "Mac" which is perfectly situated for the best view of the historic church and turquise Lk. Tekapo. The historic appointments added to the property which is delightful in every way.

Room Tip: The cottage is the first on right as you enter the property. Suprizingly quiet considering the attra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much Jenny for taking the time to write such lovely comments.
It was great to meet you both and we were very lucky you found us so spontaneously!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and maybe we can have the pleasure of your company some time in the future.
Until then all the best!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouge
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Parkbrae in the Garden Cottage with my boyfriend and my parents and rated it the best accomodation of our trip (and we had many good ones!). The place is amazing, you can be the first and the last to enjoy the view of the small church of the good shepherd, when all busses are away.
We enjoyed the very nice garden for apero and also the super cute inside which give a feeling of miniatur house (but watch out if you are tall, ceilings are low :) ).
The area is wonderful and the garden cottage surely helped us to be so impressed about our stay here. Thank you!

Room Tip: The garden cottage is a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilie175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments.
We are very lucky to work with such wonderful local businesses such as Lake Tekapo Catering Company! Greg, Nicola and their wonderful staff members add to the quality of our service and we are delighted to have them on board!

Hopefully we can welcome you another time for a longer stay.
Until then,
Best wishes!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved the estate and Patricia was extremely accommodating. The cottage was so cute and the view was amazing! Staying here was an added bonus to our honeymoon! I would recommend Parkbrae Estate to not only couples for a romantic night/weekend but also for families. A great place to stay and somewhere we will most definitely be returning to.
Hayley and Brad

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking to write such lovely comments! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you both again! Maybe for an anniversary celebration ;-)
Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My Family and I went to New Zealand for Christmas 2012 and stayed in Lake Tekapo on Dec 31st.

The room we stayed in was a beautiful little room on the top of the garden tower. In all honesty, this is the best view in all of the south island. The view we were provided was an unfettered view of the Church of the Good Shepherd and of course Lake Tekapo itself.
We can highly recommend the accommodation and the staff.

As a side note, my wife lost her wedding rings whilst we stayed at the garden tower, quite a stressful moment whilst on holidays. The staff at Parkbrae basically pulled the room a part brick by brick in their efforts to help find our rings and once found they coordinated with ourselves to get the rings couriered back to Australia in a very quick manner.

I was very impressed with the honesty and integrity of the staff and their willingness to go that extra mile to ensure my wife had her wedding rings back. As matter of fact, Parkbrae paid for the courier back to Australia and spent countless time on the phone, sometimes at their own expense working through where we think we lost the rings and finally filling out the bloody customs forms for my over protective country.

A top effort.

Travis Maher
Melbourne, Australia.

Room Tip: Choose the Garden tower, top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travismaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Travis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Really delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and even more that the "precious" rings arrived safely to your hands!
Send our best regards to your family and please ensure you return a next time.
Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and friends all stayed at Parkbrae estate for my wedding, we had people come from all over the world, and everyone was impressed with Parkbrae, it really is a magical place.

Patricia was extremely helpful and welcoming, the wedding reception was on the estate too, all went to plan. A fantastic place for a wedding and reception

Thanks again and we will be back for a winter visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Maria,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments! I have to say it was a pleasure having you all here! Especially for such a beautiful and meaningful occasion.
Delighted all went to plan and your friends and family enjoyed their time with us.
We would love to see you again and Winter is a magical season in Tekapo! You'll love it!

Keep us posted and hopefully see you in a few months.
Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbrae Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbrae Estate

Property: Parkbrae Estate
Address: Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkbrae Estate is so much more than a stay... it is an experience! Preferred by so many due to its unique style cottages and units (apartments), peaceful surroundings and privileged location! No doubt the spot in Tekapo! Only a stone's throw away from the stunning turquoise lake and a few steps from the Church of Good Shepherd and Collie Dog Statue, Tekapo's best known icons!! When at Parkbrae Estate, wake up to breathtaking scenery or warm up by the fire on a cold winter night... stroll through the gardens with camera in hand soaking up the morning light... sit on the balcony with a book or a glass of the finest NZ wine...wait until the stars come out in the mesmerizing night sky and make a wish... or two... Perfect for romantic getaways, family holidays, weddings, gatherings or just an excuse to treat yourself!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing