We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for wedding accommodation - This is the best”
Review of Parkbrae Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkbrae Estate
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking for wedding accommodation - This is the best”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A family wedding at Lake Tekapo required the perfect accommodation. Parkbrae Estate provided it. The brides parents and grandmothers enjoyed the charming Aldouri Lodge while the young marrieds loved Bush House and Garden Studio.. Nothing was too much trouble even for the youngest traveller. MacKenzie Basin wind lived upto its name but the bride blew us away as some traditions were followed at the Church of The Good Shepherd.. The bonus was the gardens that relaxed and the walk to the ceremony. Thankyou for being part of our stunning weekend. We are coming back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Hi Karen,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and all the stunning photos!
We are just so delighted you and all your family had a great time! Especially on such a special occasion!
We would to have you back and this time for a bit longer! ;-D
Best wishes,
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    28
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Wonderful accommodation with olde world charm which was made unique with Caroline's superb touch. Great view of the Lake and church.
We stayed in Aldourie which had plenty of room for cars, boats and bikes. Lovely big fridge freezer and kitchen for a weeks stay with 11people.
Some of our group stayed in 2 of the wee huts which were so cute and loved by them.
Our grandchildren loved the Library which became a playhouse.
Can't say enough about our Hosts Caroline & Graeme (& Patricia in the office) who made our stay unique.
Would recommend this as a great place to stay and we will be going back.
DON'T foget to go star watching up Mt John, we had a fantastic night. During the day walk up Mt John to be rewarded with magnificient views, great coffee and food.

Room Tip: All rooms in the house were great and thoses in the huts were happy as.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieandGrahamNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you so much for all the great comments! Apologies for late reply though but we are upgrading our computer... very slow and confused... ;-D
We are just delighted you enjoyed your stay. It was wonderful to have all your family here! Really love that house, especially at night time with the lights on and the big windows... It looks so beautiful and lively! Great to see!
Looking forward to your next visit.
Until then,
Best wishes!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed in the Top of the tower room for 2 nights. Nice welcome by the owner. The room has unbeatable views of Mt John and the lake. Full equipped kitchen and nice bathroom. We did miss a nice couch to sit on. Overall it was a nice place to stay walking distance from the small town. Do go and eat at Kohan if you like Japanese. Excellent! Place could do with better cleaning though.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely comments.
Top of the Tower has certainly one of the best views in Tekapo which is what most guests look for when they stay in this wee paradise.
We certainly appreciate your opinion and will relay it back to our cleaning team.
Also, we had the same thought regarding couch as we too feel a lounge area is quite suited to appreciate the view even more. So, you might have to come back another time to take advantage of the improvements.
Until then,
All the best for 2012!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Absolutely charmed by this olde worlde property. There are 5 double bedrooms and corresponding space for 10 people. There are lots of nooks and crannies to explore and a fascinating library. I want to arrange a family reunion here in the future. Stunning views of the Church of the Good Shepherd and convenient for local shops and the Alpine Springs Spa and hot pools. Could move in tomorrow if it were possible!!! Absolute heaven on earth.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Culturevulture23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
Aldourie is quite a special place! Every inch of the house has been decorated with much love and attention to detail. Carolyn Murray has great vision and taste which is reflected in all properties.
It would be wonderful to have you all staying again next year!
Do come back.
Until then,
Best wishes fore 2012!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed in the cottage for only one night, but will remember it forever. The best view in Tekapo of the Church of the Good Shepherd, what a perfect spot.
Very accommodating hosts with lots of local knowledge and helpful suggestions.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcarmonany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely comments!
The views are definitely stunning and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!
Please, do come back another time as we would love to welcome you again to our little paradise by the Lake.
All the best for 2012!
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Staying at Parbrae Estate is the exact opposite of staying in a characterless luxury hotel. It is more like staying at your granny's country cottage, if your granny is lucky enough to have a cottage 100 metres from Lake Tekapo with a view of the lake and the Church of the Good Shepherd.

My partner and I spent two nights staying in the Garden Cottage, which had lots of room, an amazing view, and (as you'd expect from the name) a lovely garden setting. We didn't meet the owners, but enjoyed the privacy and undisturbed peace. It was a short walk to the village and lake and had everything we needed.

A minor criticism would be that the shower in our ensuite was not great, but there was another bathroom with a much better shower and a wonderful claw-foot bath, so as we had the cottage to ourselves, we used the main bathroom instead.

I would recommend this as a quirky and homely place to stay and hope to be back myself one day.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other cottages, but would certainly recommend the Garden Cottage. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LotusEaterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
Garden Cottage is quite precious and very quaint! We are delighted you appreciated the style and feel of the house.
It would be great to meet you both next time and welcome you again to our little paradise by the Lake.
All the best for 2012.
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

A lovely house with all lovely things in it Very comfortable and warm bed. The best view in town absolutly fantastic. Lovely grounds also Just loved it all Val T

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey658478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write this review!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and once again thank you so much for the delicious honey!!
We do hope you can return!
Until then, all the best!
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbrae Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbrae Estate

Property: Parkbrae Estate
Address: Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkbrae Estate is so much more than a stay... it is an experience! Preferred by so many due to its unique style cottages and units (apartments), peaceful surroundings and privileged location! No doubt the spot in Tekapo! Only a stone's throw away from the stunning turquoise lake and a few steps from the Church of Good Shepherd and Collie Dog Statue, Tekapo's best known icons!! When at Parkbrae Estate, wake up to breathtaking scenery or warm up by the fire on a cold winter night... stroll through the gardens with camera in hand soaking up the morning light... sit on the balcony with a book or a glass of the finest NZ wine...wait until the stars come out in the mesmerizing night sky and make a wish... or two... Perfect for romantic getaways, family holidays, weddings, gatherings or just an excuse to treat yourself!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing