We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual, but tasty dining”

Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Unusual, but tasty dining”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was the second time I ate at Mackenzie's. Both times the staff have been very pleasant and accommodating. The first time I tried the triple meat with lamb as one of my selections. I didn't like the lamb on a hot stone grill, so more recently I just went with chicken. This time my husband was with me, and it was his first experience with the 400 C stone. He laughed that they didn't need a chef, as we cooked it ourselves. You have to be careful with chicken, of course, but it is delicious and tender when you get the art down.

The location on the lake is beautiful, and we didn't find it more pricey than most NZ restaurants. We enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    366
    121
    50
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not happy!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were at Mackenzie's about 4 months ago on our way through to Christchurch and felt that the place had slipped a bit since our previous visit. The restrooms were okay but nothing to dry your hands on and the food was..okay. We have just stopped off again and the food was still "just okay", the service about the same and well. the loos - you guys, there are 4 toilets - only one was working with queues of people and no one seems to care! Sorry, we're not coming back again - 3 strikes, you're out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryllL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love that stonegrill!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

It can be a bit pricey depending on what you order but the food is amazing, it's located right on the lake, and it's open pretty much whenever you want it :) And let's be honest, get the stonegrill - it's amazing. There's a three-meat stonegrill sampler that's great, but the eye fillet one is also amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible lunch-worst we have had in Tekapo”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had soup and teenager had cheese burger. Soup roll was probably out of a packet, soup was uninspiring. Burger looked terrible-I couldn't even bear to taste it. Meat didn't look like steak-suspect at minimum it was a frozen one from the supermarket. Lettuce was shrivelled and dry, cheese "tasted like Mcdonalds". Eat instead for lunch at No 31, or for dinner go to the Italian (not on Trip adviser yet) or Kohan. Do not go here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieatLigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A gimmick and expensive”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I highly do not recommend anyone to dine here. We paid more than $70 for just two mains a beer and a glass of wine for what really? Nothing! There was no cooking involved. The only thing that they had to do was throw a raw piece of steak on a hot stone and bring it out to you. You practically had to do the cooking yourself. The piece of meat was chewy and the chips that I received as my side were limp and cold. I had to make them crunchy by placing them on the hot stone myself. The dish lacked flavour and excitement. We will never come back here ever again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing