We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really scenic location & cosy little church”

Church of the Good Shepherd
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.68*
and up
Mount Cook to Christchurch Tour
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Church of the Good Shepherd is situated on the shores of Lake Tekapo amongst the natural beauty of the lake and the mountains. The Church of the Good Shepherd was built to the glory of God as a memorial to the pioneers of the Mackenzie Country. "Somehow the setting and the church combine to speak of God to those who enter and pause in the midst of their busy lives." - Peter Hurricks NO PHOTOS INSIDE Please do not use cameras, cellphones or tablets inside the church so that others may enjoy as is a place of prayer and reflection. PLEASE REMOVE YOUR WASTE There are no toilet or rubbish collection facilities in the area around the church so we kindly ask that visitors remove their waste and respect the natural environment around the church.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really scenic location & cosy little church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Got an excellent autumn day to go and see the church and enjoy the stunning views available from here. What a location!!!

There was a wedding in the church at the time so we came back the next day to get a look at the inside.

The stone architecture along with the backdrop must make this the most scenic church in the world....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    452
    156
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spiritual serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

There's just something about this place, even around the grounds. I absolutely loved just sitting on the side of lake, church behind me, and taking in God's amazing creation. It's free to visit the church, and donations of most welcome upon entry. Plenty of car parking, even along the road if the car park were to ever get full.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbrooks1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little church in an incredible location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This little church is in such an amazing location and certainly adds to any photos taken of Lake Tekapo. I'm sure I'm not alone in not entering the church but just admiring its charm in its surrounds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AkemiPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a great little stone church situated close to town and with a great outlook over the lake. Well worth a visit and extremely photogenic!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ozandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect picture spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The church overlooks Lake Tekapo, and with the rocks and grass in the foreground and mountains in the back, makes for a perfect photo. It's super difficult (near impossible, if you are with a large tour group), but try waiting for people to leave so you can get a serene people-less shot -- you won't regret it.

So beautiful, one of my favorite views in NZ. I love the church's bell, which I almost missed, and don't forget to go inside either, to get another viewpoint of the lake and the church, that people don't usually see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of the Good Shepherd also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Church of the Good Shepherd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing