We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 of my favourite places in the south island..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 of my favourite places in the south island..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my mum while we travelled New Zealand on the Magic bus and I have to say that the beds were very comfortable in comparison to other hostels iv stayed in. They were also very clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly. They recommended we do the walk up Mount John which isn't far then treat ourselves to a coffee at the top and then on the way down we go to the hot pools which were equally as good. I loved waking up in the morning and soaking in the spectacular views of the lake and the mountains. The hostel is 10 minutes walk from the small but cute village centre. Although I do highly recommend that you buy from new world or pak n save before heading to tekapo because the 4 square near by is pretty pricey. Overall I loved staying here and would definately go there again and recommend to friends too :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    40
    39
    25
    14
See reviews for
5
47
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location is fine and is only a 10 minute walk from the main village, but very close to the spa and right in front of the lake. Overall the accommodation was tired. The rooms were clean, but the bunk-bed (4 bed dorm) was rocking and needed fixing to the wall. The kitchen was a little dirty and could do with a few more pots and pans. The bathrooms were fine, but there are only 2 sinks in the male bathroom, which caused a bit of a queue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

1rst point: it's far from the centre when you have to walk with a heavy backpack!!
2nd point: I had a cold shower!! I don't know why but it wasn't plesant at all, especially when it's really cold outside and you need to warm up.

But we were not so many people in here that night, and that was nice because I had a dorm just for me! Except the two points above, that was a good stay, the bed was ok and the room warm.
As we were not so many the kitchen was big enough and quite tidy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A great place to stay a few days. Very well appointed with spotlessly clean facilities and rooms. The views are to die for! You are really right on the waterfront! There were only 2 things that were drawbacks. One was the fact that my room only consisted of a bed and nothing else. No bedside cabinet - no nothing! The manager on duty brought in some furniture and the problem was resolved. The other point which wasn't fixable was the fact that all the doors slammed shut and this could be heard everywhere ( just about). At the back of the doors was some sort of a spring which made to door shut automatically behind you but with a bang.
Other than that I can highly recommend Lakefront Backpackers

Room Tip: With a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed for one night whilst waiting for a bed to become free in the yha. Staff were pleasant, and available when necessary. The kitchen, whilst small, was clean and reasonably well equipped. There was a very nice warm lounge area with lovely lake views.
I stayed in a very small four bed dorm. The heating was a bit of a puzzle to work out, but once I located a wall switch (not the plug socket), I was able to warm up the cold room. In the morning condensation was a big problem. Moisture was also a problem in the bathroom. The walls almost ran with water, and the ceiling was peeling and mouldy (although the bathrooms were clearly regularly cleaned). There is obviously a ventilation problem. This may have explained why many fire doors were propped open with wedges throughout the hostel. This is a problem, as fire doors need to be closed to prevent fires from spreading.
Sleep quality was moderate. The bunks were comfortable, but the doors throughout the hostel very very noisy (which could also explain the door wedges). With heavy duty earplugs I was able to sleep reasonably well.
The location of the hostel is lovely, right by the lake and convenient for the baths and hikes to Mt John and the observatory. Be aware if you are on foot, that it's at least 1km to the centre of town where some buses drop off.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenvale, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was a great hostel situated about 20 mins out of town (walking) and right on the lake. it has great views, is warm, cozy and friendly and i would recommend it to anyone. There is a great kitchen, with heaps of space and utilities and the common area is really big and friendly. This is a hostel that makes it very easy to meet other travelers and be social.

the 4 share room i was in was a bit too small for 4 people and baggage (i slept with my bag at the foot of my bed) but the beds were cozy, the room was warm, and again, due to the fact that there was a nice common area, i had already met the other people in my small room and we got along really well regardless.

My tips, ask for a room away from the tour bus groups, and they are very accoomodating, make the most of the common area to meet others and make sure you get down to the church after dark on a clear night to photo the stars. (see attached pic). OH, and midnight swim may seem like a good idea at some stage but it is really really cold!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A bit of a walk into town (20mins) but a gorgeous location & ideal for the springs.

Had an issue with my key & I couldn't lock the front door. But the lady on reception was very helpful.

The room could have been a little cleaner but all round was fine, the bed was very comfy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireLass81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeFront Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Property: LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
Address: Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeFront Backpackers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your LakeFront Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing