We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff of all yha!”
Review of YHA Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YHA Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Really cosy hostel, very small. When I was there there were a lot of asian people, which leads to another atmosphere. But I really liked this hostel. All facilities were there and the staff was absolutely the most amazing people I have ever seen. They help you with everything and make you feel like home. Thanks for that guys! The view over lake tekapo is also amazing and definitely go up to mount John (during day and night)!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank Manon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 215 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

The location is great - we could walk to a lot of nearby attractions from the hotel. The view of the lake out back with the lupins was truly beautiful. The kitchen area was fairly large, with a very nice dining room and common area with an awesome lake view and a little patio outside. The atmosphere is really great - relaxed and positive.

We stayed in a twin private room next to the handicapped bathroom. The bathrooms were kept clean, and the bedroom had a nice view.

My only issue is that the heater didn't work (and it was spring, so fairly chilly at night - I wore thermals to bed). They gave us a portable heater, but that blew the breakers on the outlets in the room and no one was up in the night to help us get them reset, so we just froze. Also, all the lights in the room were plug in lights, so after that we didn't have lights either. I assume that was just a temporary problem as it really is a nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dt_Panic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thanks for the great review and yes you are right it is a temporary problem and we're sorry you had that experience.

We have just finalised putting in ceiling heaters in all our rooms, yours was the last one! This means we no longer need to put in oil heaters in rooms which frees up more sockets for all those digital devices that need to be charged up so you can take great selfies by the lake.

For other guests staying, if there is a problem and no-one is at reception we have someone on call 24 hours so it's no problem to ask for help anytime.

Hopefully you don't need it.

Thanks for the great comments, we love it here in Lake Tekapo, it's such a special place and we're even happier all our guests can be cozy and warm this winter. we're here to hep and make your stay as trouble free as possible.

Billy Kerr
Manager - YHA Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location with lake view from common area.
Few minutes walk to the village centre.
Kitchen is well-organized and equipped but suggest to prohibit some oily cook, it too smelly.
Our room have window that opened into the hallway, but night time we still can have good rest because no much noise from outside. People stayed there are thoughtful ^^~
The only concern for female is the bathroom. It will be great if the number of bathroom can be increase.


Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank JiaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

the kitchen fully equipped with cooking utensils. and the YHA management is quite thoughtful in a sense that they trying to keep the kitchen smell away but keeping the door between kitchen and bedrooms is closed especially during the meals time when people cooking.
the room is clean
bed is comfortable.
the toilets also very clean just that it will be good if able to increase the number of toilets
2 toilets and 2 shower rooms is not enough when the YHA is fully occupied.
I like the living room where we can spend time to chat and have a wonderful view of lake tekapo.
overall is value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherineaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Check in for 2 nights stay, have a good sleep there. Good location as it just next to the bus stop. Friendly staff and manager provide good service. Clean and comfortable room.Good option for budget stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TayTYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Clean with good communal areas and kitchen, bit of a weird urinal smell throughout the hostel when we were there. Mattress was comfortable and linen was clean. The one window in our room (5) opened into the hallway which wasn't ideal, but a giant skylight on the ceiling helped with some natural light.

Good budget option for travellers in Tekapo. Beautiful view!

Room Tip: Room 5 doesn't have a window opening to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backwardblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Manager was excellent in operating the hostel. He gave us a better room accommodation wtihout extra charge. Ther view from the YHA hostel was excellent. Kitchen is very clean and well-organized. Lounge is clean and well-organized. Beddings are clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geda2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#15 of 18 in Lake Tekapo
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 18 in Lake Tekapo
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Lake Tekapo

Address: 3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $47 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YHA Lake Tekapo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED UNTIL LATE 2018. Construction has begun on a brand new YHA Lake Tekapo! The new hostel will sit on a slightly different lakefront site, but with the same amazing views we all know and love. Please check the YHA website for up to date information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Tekapo Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing