We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility personnified”

Te Popo Gardens and Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Popo Gardens and Accommodation
Ranked #8 of 8 Stratford B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tranquility personnified”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Te Popo Gardens is a treat. Hosts very obliging and friendly. Accommodation commodious and comfortable. Gardens a delight. The dogs make good tour guides. A reasonable distance from Stratford and Mt Egmont. We extended our stay by one night because of a big storm and were glad we did. Unfortunately the area lost power for 24 hours but with the help of our hosts, a slow combustion heater, rainwater tanks and a gas barbecue, we coped!

Room Tip: Ask about self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePopo, Owner at Te Popo Gardens and Accommodation, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thanks for your comments. The weather can provide interesting times for our guests and ourselves. We were pleased to accommodate the extra day and to know that you enjoyed thi9s extra adventure. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Te PoPo Gardens
Wonderful 34 acre property, with loads of room to wander. For the garden lover - it would be paradise. Apartments are pre year 2000, but very clean, lovingly provisioned and our hosts are most friendly and obliging. Everything is provided.

There is no mobile or wireless connection and it is a good drive from the town and the National park. Still not a bad base for the National Park and complete relaxation - small children could run, but it is really a mature Adult sort of place.

Room Tip: Each one of 4 units is different "The Apartment is 2 story and has full kitchen included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Te Popo is about 15 mins drive outside Stratford and a great base for the National Park. The accomodation is spacious, individual and the whole place is set in the most perfect gardens. Breakfast seems to be different each day and really well prepared. All in all a perfect place to base yourself in the area. We stayed in the tree tops suite which I think was the nicest of all the rooms available.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had the apartment for our stay in Te Popo, which has a separate upstairs lounge, with a bedroom downstairs, this is quite a bit larger than the other rooms. Very nice and clean, with full kitchen facilities, well furnished with a very comfortable bed.

Quite a long way from anywhere, nearest rather basic pub/restaurant is a 15 minutes drive. We brought a meal in for the second night of our stay.

Great breakfast, not just the usual bacon and eggs.

The garden is beautiful, though the abundance of trees does make the accommodation an little dark. We arrived in rather wet weather, and the apartment smelt a little damp, though this soon disappeared when we turned on the heaters and did not trouble us at all.

Good base to explore the Taranki National Park, or just escape from it all.

Lorri (owner) is very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

What a fantastic part of NZ and beautiful place to stay whilst there. The Ellises have four large, very comfortable ensuite rooms, with all the special touches you want in a room, and you feel like you are the only people there. Great, tasty breakfast in a lovely conservatory, and then a wander about the gardens, and you could find yourself enjoying most of your time just at Te Popo! The gardens are so lovely, and such a variety as you stroll about, including a few bush walks or a trip down to or across the stream which surrounds the property. I've only seen the Gardens in Autumn, and they were stunning, I can only imagine that Spring must be even more spectacular.

The Ellises and their two dogs are the best you could find in hosts, all charming and as helpful and accommodating as you could want.

Stratford has plenty of things to do, be it golf, bush walks or the beautiful Taranaki mountain to explore.

I would highly recommend you seek out this place in this part of the world and enjoy all it has to offer; you might find yourself wanting to come back again, as I'm sure I will.

  • Liked — Gardens and peaceful, relaxing location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.0 mi away
Dawson Falls Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Amity Court Motel
Amity Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratford
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
#2 of 3 in Stratford
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Broadway Lodge Motel
Broadway Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Stratford
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stratford Kiwi Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Popo Gardens and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Popo Gardens and Accommodation

Property: Te Popo Gardens and Accommodation
Address: 636 Stanley Road, Stratford 4394, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently under new management, Te Popo Gardens & Accommodation is one of Taranaki's premier gardens. This large country garden of trees, offers seasonal colour and diversity in landscaping, and features a fine collection of exotic deciduous broad leaf and coniferous trees. The woodland gardens, shrub and perennial borders merge into the old growth forest hugging the 15-metre deep ravines enfolding the garden. The visitor experience includes fern gullies, waterfalls, ponds, a suspension bridge, forest trails, native birds, and carpets of bluebells. Self-contained quality accommodation both comfortable and beautiful, enhances this special place we call home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Te Popo Gardens And Accommodation Stratford, Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing