We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed there with my wife and baby for 5 nights in the family room.
the room was beautiful and well designed with a lovely mount Taranaki view.
location is amazing in the heart of the national park.
food was absolutely delicious.
rod and Lynne where great hosts and did everything to provide a great service along with there lovely staff.
atmosphere was very pleasant at all times .
one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were looking for a venue for a reunion of 18 friends that had been on a "Golden Oldie " rugby trip to Brisbane in 2003. Well what an excellent venue, great food, friendly staff, lovely rooms, very comfortable beds. Great spot, We were looked after superbly. It is highly recommended and we will be going back soon.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms close adjoining the complex and it was great. It was very clean with a moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain House for three nights as our base in the Taranaki region and from the time we arrived to the time we left we throughly enjoyed it. We were a little concerned that it might be at the end of a windy mountain road, but it was a pleasant 10 minute drive up a straight road from Stratford, in a quiet and beautiful setting in the rain forest. The staff were wonderful from the start. Unobtrusive, courteous and friendly. We were offered a sauna on our arrival and we accepted. Our room was lovely, warm and cosy and the restaurant was fantastic. We ate there on two nights and both the food and service were right up there with the best experience we have had anywhere. In terms of value for money it was again a winner. If you want to learn how to do hospitality really really well you will find no better example than at the Mountain House,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynov4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We needed to book at short notice for 7 rooms and fortunately there was 7 available. The venue has been revamped since we were last there, to a very modern look. (Miss the old fireplace) But the new look is great and the deck is great for early evening drinks and get together. The rooms have also been revamped with very comfortable beds and well thought out decor. Meals were simply a delight and the view of the mountain up close at breakfast was special.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great for business function or family / friends get together. The drive is definitely with it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaashkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We are a retired couple who still like to try something new and a bit different. The local Information Office in Stratford told us about the Mainain House and we were most greatful that they did. Firstly our Lodge was on Mt Taranaki so quiet for peace and rest but not too far to do some walking on the Mountain. And OH! the beds and the comfort. Possibly the most comfortable and best dressed beds on the North Island. Coming into a warm chalet with warm bedding makes such a difference when the wheather turns cooler. We missed dinner but the restaurant was available should we have wished and we needed to leave early and so missed the cooked breakfast available from 9.00am. We would certainly recommend this stay to someone looking for somewhere which offers great value for a reasobale rate.

Room Tip: Heating silent and excellent. We didn't use the pool or fitness centre so our lack of rating is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam_B397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I arranged the dinner, bed and breakfast package for my husband's birthday. Now plan on doing this on a regular basis. Such a fantastic experience. Service, food and room were all outstanding. Excellent, friendly, personable and unobtusive staff. Meals delicious and presentation 10/10. Room lush, clean and so cosy. Felt like a flash home away from home with staff like family. And only a 40 minute drive away. Highly recommend this very reasonably priced deal. So warm in restaurant and room that the short walk to and from chalet in the drizzle didn't really matter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We do not usually bother with responding to requested reviews, but we felt we must this time, as The Strratford Mountain House was absolutely delightful. The site and scenery up the mountainside go without saying. The lounge, bar and dining are great for relaxing and chatting, and the rooms are very well appointed. The real highlight was the manager and staff. They were so pleasant, so helpful, yet not at all intrusive.
The Stratford Mountain House was a wonderful place to wind up our trip with Forgotten World Adventures on the mothballed railway from Taumarunui to Whangamomona to Stratford. Altogether, a most enjoyable three days.

Wendy and Bruce Hadden

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.5 mi away
Dawson Falls Mountain Lodge
8.5 mi away
Amity Court Motel
Amity Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratford
371 reviews
9.3 mi away
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
#2 of 3 in Stratford
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Broadway Lodge Motel
Broadway Lodge Motel
#5 of 8 in Stratford
40 reviews
8.7 mi away
Stratford Kiwi Motels & Holiday Park
10.9 mi away
Amble In Motel
Amble In Motel
#4 of 8 in Stratford
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | East Mt. Egmont/Taranaki, Stratford 4352, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $125 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain House Hotel has nine beautifully decorated double rooms. All our guest rooms are new renovated and equipped with flat panel TV, complimentary Mini Bar, Telephone and FREE internet. In addition, all rooms feature a full private spa bath with overhead showers, hairdryer, and Guest Amenities. All guests can completely relax by using all the restaurant services including breakfast, Lunch, afternoon teas and Dinner.…You can’t find a better place on earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing