We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth A Visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossroads Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Crossroads Bar and Grill
Restaurant details
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the first restaurant I have found for a long time where one is able to get a real kiwi roast meal. Right in the center of the town and good service. Reasonably priced and lovely food.
Highly recommended..........

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruakakakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good kiwi tucker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

As the reveiwer before me said the lighting's a bit bright, but the staff are lovely and helpful and the food is good, plentiful and very well-priced. The first night we went there, the cheese and bacon bread was generous and the roast was filling. We went back again last night and I had the chicken breast which was big and tasty.
Good, well priced, unpretentious food and staff that are friendly, helpful and don't fuss.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Local recommends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

As Stratford locals we go to Crossroads fairly regular, Grant and his staff are friendly and you are made to feel welcome. There is a good choice on the menu and gluten free, vegetarians etc are catered for. Being on a corner and with windows going around you can watch the traffic go by or sit away from the windows that choice is yours.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxed with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited Stratford early winter mid-week and not much in the way of food places open for dinner. Crossroads is more or less in the centre of the town with the Bar area in one room and the eating in another. Nice décor with perhaps the lighting a bit bright for a casual dinner dining environment but the layout quite spacious and quiet. My friend and I along with 2 other tables so no problems with quick service which was good. The Maitre 'd was quite knowledgable with the Menu contents and listed the specials of the day. Water arrived quickly whilst we pondered our choices from a primarily modern New Zealand cuisine menu (seafood and meat). We ordered the green-lipped mussels to share for an entrée and found them very tasty with the garlic and chilli white wine sauce to dip in. My main of crumbed Pork Schnitzel was cooked to perfection with no scrimping on size and the accompanying kumara and pumpkin mash and vegetables were colourful and fresh. My partner ordered the Roast of the Day (chicken) and the presentation of this had the WOW factor also. We managed to find space for dessert and the cheesecake was delicious. The wine list was good and our choices supplemented our meals well. Cost for 2 was NZ$77. Overall a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarillonManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crossroads Bar and Grill also viewed

Stratford, Taranaki Region
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing