We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very rude staff”

Whangamomona Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Stratford
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived to a very rude welcome at this hotel, and ended up getting so offended we left before we even placed an order.

If you want to get mocked by a grumpy old lady so she can get a cheap laugh from some locals then this is the place for you, otherwise don't bother.

The forgotten highway itself isn't all that great either.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    42
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

owner was grumpy. not good value. wouldnt go there again. took plate away before asking if i was finished, when taken to task about it offered no apology

Helpful?
2 Thank tuggerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What an icon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stopped for lunch here whilst on a Tiki tour along the Worlds Forgotten Highway (our NZ version of Rote 66). Landlord was fantastic, as was the food and beer. As a Republic, I even got my official (not) passport, and the wife a T shirt. Quite a novelty, but really good and no doubt we will be back.
For anyone from Auckland, just remember this is the boonies, and asking the landlord for a triple soy decaf latte will result in verbal abuse! Great stuff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitara
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Whanga Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Worth the stop whether a meal or a snack. Great place to go for a drive to for a drink. Great photos of the past on the walls and a lot of history.

Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pub food in a great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I recommend stopping in here for a beer and a hearty meal. We'll come again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank brrrrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whangamomona Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Stratford, Taranaki Region
Stratford, Taranaki Region
 
Stratford, Taranaki Region
Stratford, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Whangamomona Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing