We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Cosey”
Review of Amity Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amity Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2013

No beds in New Plymouth so kept on going down the road and ended up in Stratford. Helpful receptionist showed us rooms and negotiated a deal. One of our party was in a wheechair so we needed one room with modified facilities.
He recommended Mountain House for dinner and so duly went up the Mount and into the snow. Lovely atmosphere and excellent food and service.
Back to the motel and the underfloor heating meant we had a warm room to come back to and no need to wear shoes or slippers inside. All warm and cosey.
Best place to stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenjShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Amity Court Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and are so pleased you followed our advice to head to the Mountain House for dining as we believe it has great food and even better atmosphere as you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 371 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked the Amity Court for a BBall Tourney and wasn't dissapointed. Modern, comfortable and the Manager/Owners were great to deal with. Family room has seperate shower and Spa bath with excellent lounge area and kitchen facilities. Studios have a decent fridge with a microwave oven and nice bathroom. Will denfinitely stay again next year for our annual BBall pilgrimage to the 'Naki'.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlKen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have chosen Amity Court as your preferred accommodation whilst in Stratford. We look forward to seeing you again for the next Basketball Tournament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice and new but more importantly, lovely and warm! Comfortable beds, excellent shower and spa bath. Great for a family stay. The managers were very helpful and thanks to their advice, we had a wonderful time on the mountain. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your review on Amity Court Motel. We are very aware that Stratford can often be very cold due to the mountain and have taken steps to ensure that when you are in your room it is as comfortable as possible with heated tiles, heat pumps and double glazing etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

One if the bank best if not more the best in motel as have ever stayed in my life.
Passed through Stratford last year and wanted to stay at Stratford the next time I came to NZ.
They were ultra friendly at reception to us and the night was just great.Good bed shower just good value too for money.
Will definitely stay again there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davepem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you Davepem for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we'd love to have you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Amity Court is a real gem and a truly great place to stay if you plan to spend time on Mt. Taranaki or as we did, journey the magnificent Forgotten Highway through to Taumaranui.

The room we stayed in was very well appointed with a super king sized bed made up with quality crisp cotton sheeting. The fittings are all of a high standard and the furnishings are tasteful.

In early July the nights are cool but the heat pump quickly brought the room to a comfy temperature and the double glazing and insulation kept it warm all night. The underfloor heating in the tiled areas was a blissful bonus too.

I don't know if the rooms either side or above us were occupied because I heard no noise from them or from the road.

There are limited dining options in Stratford and on a Monday night the only place to get a sit down meal was Colonel Molone's. Extended stays might require a bit of in room cooking but the kitchenette was adequately equipped for self preparation of simple meals.

Overall I would highly reccommend Amity Court and do plan to stay again in the summer when we will have time to explore the wonders of the Taranaki District some more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Amity Court Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed the rooms as we are always trying to come up with ways to keep them looking as fresh as we can. There are some great dining places in Stratford although I know certain ones aren't always open on a Monday night as you mentioned. However, since this review there have been a few new takeaways options such as sushi and Indian etc that have opened in Stratford. These are great and can offer a bit of variety to dining. Stratford has a lot to offer and it'd be great to have you back again to explore it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Management are very friendly. Accommodation was awesome and suitable for our requirements. One of the best that I have stayed in. Plenty of room. Having the underfloor heating in bathroom and heat pump in main room was awesome for those chilly nights. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your great review on Amity Court Motel. We believe that it is the small touches in the rooms such as the heated tiles etc that make all the difference and are so pleased that you were able to take advantage of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Amity Court Motel is modern and very well appointed with everything you need for a comfortable night or even a week's stay. Free WiFi, comfortable beds, excellent water pressure and heat, pleasant and accommodating staff. We were very impressed. For a small town, Stratford's Amity Court Motel can compete with any big city option for excellent, affordable and CLEAN accommodation. Walk to Nelson's Cafe for a quick, hearty and tasty breakfast. Thank you Amity Court.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you - ask to be placed away from the main road. But the motel is so close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliveMcGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your great review on Amity Court Motel. It is very satisfying to hear that you enjoyed what Amity Court has to offer. We believe that Stratford is a wonderful little town that deserves a stunning motel to compliment it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
21.5 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
267 reviews
21.8 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
349 reviews
1.4 mi away
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
#2 of 3 in Stratford
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stratford Kiwi Motels & Holiday Park
17.8 mi away
The Park Motel
The Park Motel
#2 of 4 in Hawera
60 reviews
17.1 mi away
Kiwi Court Motel
Kiwi Court Motel
#4 of 4 in Hawera
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Court Motel

Address: 35 Broadway, Stratford 4332, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: $98 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 23-suite luxury motel, new June 2009. Modern design, 16 studios, 1 and 2-bedroom units. Great location, 750m to shops, 1km to golf course, 300m to International Speedway. Motel features off-street parking with CCTV, heat pumps, 5 channel Sky TV, high-speed broadband, sound proofing, heated tiled bathrooms, lift, some units have spa baths and fully equipped kitchens. Cot, highchair and laundry available to guests. Cooked/continental breakfasts available and all rooms are serviced daily. Stratford is the gateway to Egmont National Park and Mt Taranaki. A town that is famous for it beautiful parks and gardens and New Zealand's only glockenspiel clock. Experience the Forgotten World Highway, one of New Zealand's most secluded roads. New Zealand's first heritage trail, this scenic route winds over four mountain saddles, alongside the spectacular Tangarakau Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Amity Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amity Court Motel Stratford, Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing