We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good basic motel at good value, but perhaps you pay for what you get.”
Review of Amble In Motel

Amble In Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amble In Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A very clean and basic motel near Stratford, NZ. The bed was comfortable and all the basic facilities were there. There was a good heating and cooling unit.The grounds were beautiful and well worth wandering around. The price was the lowest we have paid in NZ so far, but you probably get what you pay for. The unit was on the small side, with only one bed side table, and only one comfortable chair. There were no scissors in the kitchen, and other kitchen utensils were the bare basics, and none of the knives were sharp for preparing vegetables etc. There was some noise from the road, and railway, all through the night. No drawers were provided for clothes, and if staying for a few days, this was a nuisance. Wi-Fi was charged, whereas in most motels we have stayed in this has been provided free. If staying, units 1 to 6 are probably the best choice, as units 7 to 10 have their patio doors open on the courtyard where the cars are parked etc, rather than a garden area. The information says that you can see Mount Tarinaki, but this is more or less impossible from the accommodation units, and you need to go into the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for units 1 to 6, as the patio doors open on to a garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Was absolutely spotless, couldn't fault it. Hosts Ern and Elaine were really friendly and gave us a great last minute rate. Only 4kms from Stratford, so really close to town. Room was clean, as said and was really comfy and spacious. It had a full kitchen and freeview and a flatscreen telly. A bit dated, but cozy. The one fault i have was the noise. You are probably only 100 metres from the road. Although a large hedge, blocked the road from view, all night we could hear the trucks and cars. But we live quite rural, so we were not used to it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

This motel is located a short distance outside of Stratford. It is set on a property that includes a pond and gardens that are worth a leisurely walk, in our case, with a glass of wine. We used the guest laundry with its nearly new appliances. The cost was more reasonable than usual.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGlennC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The Unit we stayed in was spotlessly clean and the kitchen and ensuite were great as was the rest of the unit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven-Dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
3.8 mi away
Broadway Lodge Motel
Broadway Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Stratford
40 reviews
2.7 mi away
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
#2 of 3 in Stratford
56 reviews
4 mi away
Amity Court Motel
Amity Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratford
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Dawson Falls Mountain Lodge
10.9 mi away
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stratford Kiwi Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble In Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble In Motel

Address: 4237 Mountain Road, Stratford 4393, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $78 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amble In Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amble In Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amble In Motel Stratford, Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing