We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extra Mile!”

Zepplin Cafe - Gallery
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Child Friendly outdoor area with an indoor space crammed with great local Art. Open by arrangement at night with an excellent "Monthly" themed evening.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extra Mile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Made me a fab. veggie smoothie and when I asked if I could add my spirulina and other additives they offered to do it for me and it was fa.b Went back for another the next day with the same results. Will definitely be back on my next visit to try another flavour. They went the extra mile to help, with great results. There Plum tart is exquisite, just the right amount of tartness and the coffees great. Great friendly people, thumbs up guys, keep up the good work.
This was my third visit and I will certainly make it a stop when I move up later this year. :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishoutawater2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I have been here twice now, once for lunch and more recently for a Sunday breakfast. Both times we have been the service has been fantastic and the food top notch.
The decor is quirky and the music theme is great, gives you something to look at while you wait for your order.
It doubles as a gallery and the art work is interesting and different.
Overall great service/ staff, good food and great theme and ambience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just popped in for a nosey look and a quick takeaway, best ham and brie on Turkish bread I've had in NZ, proper ham and soft brie. The Zep Dog was very tasty to with what i have to assume is a homemade tomato relish(special little takeaway bowl , nice touch) . The service was very friendly and it has made me want to go back next Friday for a drink and snack after work with friends. Spectacular first impression, see you next Friday with friends ! great work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bbqboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We ended having three courses as the food was so tasty. Lots of local produce and excellent menu. For example warmed figs with blue cheese and a balsamic reduction was superb.

Its fair to say when you arrive the outside is unprepossessing but inside its very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit to well publicised new cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

A group of friends meets regularly for lunch in different cafes from Hastings to Bay View, and we have modest requirements, i.e. we usually choose tasty fresh offerings from the cabinet. We were disappointed to find this café had a very limited range of food on offer. It was barely 12noon so they had either run out after morning teas or were not quite ready for the lunch rush. The menu did not appeal as a light lunch option (expensive mains, restaurant prices), so we made do with very meagre offerings from the cabinet. Concerned to see platters of muffins, scones etc sitting uncovered on the counter. Décor is eclectic, nice outdoor arrangements. The staff were friendly and tried to help one customer by offering a pizza from the children's menu which turned out to be most unexciting. I was ready for crackers and cheese at home for afternoon tea. Viewing the advertised art gallery didn't seem to be an option, perhaps it is by invitation only to approved persons who order lavishly from the menu!
Not on our list for a return visit, alas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieMac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zepplin Cafe - Gallery also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Clive, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Te Awanga, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Zepplin Cafe - Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing