We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottage comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clive Colonial Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cottage comfort.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

LIke a home away from home, they have thought of everything. Very comfy bed, good sheets, lovely gardens, pleasant neutral deco. Loved the eggs and bread etc left in the fridge for your first morning. Also enjoyed playing chess with the large chess board and pieces in the garden, great idea. There is also a pool table in the games room in the barn. Very friendly owners, who invited us to help ourselves from the many fruit tress on the property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, it is really appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
88
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had a magical two night stay at Colonial Cottages and wish we could have stayed longer. The cottage has two bedrooms and was ideal for the three of us.

Lots of games, etc to keep us entertained, and our daughter enjoyed playing chess on the big outdoor chess board, whilst we used the BBQ.

We had a slight mishap and left our camera behind - at the outdoor BBQ - and had a 1.5 hour round trip to collect it - thanks to Sandra's wonderful hospitality she had the camera ready for our return as well as a pot of honey as a gift to make us feel a bit better!

Thanks for a wonderful stay - Andre, Elma and Taryn

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AETL2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks so much for the review Andre, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the honey! And hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had an excellent stay here - our Fantail cottage was absolutely perfect for a couple, its modern, clean and just excellent. Location is great for exploring Hawkes Bay, owners are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were sad to leave after our 3 nights...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and we hope the rest of your holiday in NZ is great. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Tui Cottage and it was perfect. The facilities were of a high standard - we used the BBQ one evening, cooked another and visited Clearview Vineyard on Friday evening for music and dinner. A great place to stay in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for your review, it is really appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our two night stay at Clive Colonial Cottages was too short. We loved Bellbird cottage which was the perfect size for two adults and a child. It was modern and clean. The location between Napier and Havelock North was perfect. The recommendations on local restaurants and attractions were really helpful. The welcome breakfast suppliers, toiletries and DVDs were a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review, we really appreciate it and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Clive Colonial Cottages. The location is great, rural but still close to anywhere you need to go in Hawkes Bay. The cottages are modern clean and comfortable with a great shower. And Sandra, Neil and the kids are perfect hosts: warm, welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We stayed with our 11 month old baby and Sandra was great at accommodating our little one with a high chair, cot and baby bath. We would certainly stay again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and would be happy to welcome your family back again in the future. Kindest regards Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Canterbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for the great, peaceful stay. The cottages are perfect for a relaxing time and there are good grounds with lots of space to relax and for kids to run around of that is your thing.
Hawkes Bay is a cool place to visit, we had good weather too which made for a good weekend

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review, we really appreciate guests taking the time to write reviews and really appreciate your kind words. Thanks again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
3.4 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
7.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawn Cottages
Lawn Cottages
#2 of 4 in Clive
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.6 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clive Colonial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Colonial Cottages

Property: Clive Colonial Cottages
Address: 198 School Road, Clive 4102, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clive Colonial Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable boutique self-catering accommodation in the heart of the Hawkes Bay. Just ten minutes from Napier, Hastings & Havelock North means you are not far away from the many attractions and activities that the region offers. Our three stand-alone cottages were the Top Pick for the Hastings District in the 2010 NZ Lonely Planet guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clive Colonial Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing