We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clive Colonial Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The 3 cottages look like new, inside and out and are very clean and well cared for. They are set in a lovely garden area and each cottage has their own little deck, with table and chairs on. We felt very comfortable staying here for four nights and the laundry facilities were a bonus.

The owners were very friendly, caring and helpful.

A car is certainly a must, as the cottages are set in a rural area with no public transport nearby.

Room Tip: Two of the cottages have an identical layout, but the third one is bigger and has two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and really enjoyed meeting you. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 172 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

The cottages are located in a very convenient spot for tourists and vacationists. The cottages are so beautifully aranged, every small detail is taken care of with the utmost attention. Staying there really upgraded our hotel experiences. We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could stay more. The owners are more than friendly and we strongly recommend the place for others. This place will make your vacation worth a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

How wonderful your review is, thank you so much for your kind words. It as a delight to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the rest of your trip around New Zealand was great. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Clive Colonial Cottages as a base for the bridal party of a wedding (including partners).

The accommodation was perfect for hosting a BBQ for friends from out of town, and then using the cottages as stations on the big day for hair, make-up etc.

The partners kept entertained with the TVs, games room, basketball hoop etc - there is something there for everyone.

Perfectly situated in Clive, it's nor far from anywhere, and would definitely serve as a secluded location for a holiday in its own right.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickT12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

So glad you had a wonderful stay and that it worked so well for the bridal group. Look forward to seeing you again in the future maybe. Kindest regards Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights staying in the Bellbird Cottage at Clive Colonial Cottages. The cottage was extremely well presented, as were the grounds which included an outdoor chess set (a big hit with my eldest daughter) and a BBQ. The owners really set this place apart, however; nothing was too much trouble and they couldn't have been more welcoming. We have stayed in a number of properties around New Zealand and this is up there with the very best of them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the cottage and grounds suited your family. We just love seeing guests enjoy the property and for those that then take the time to write a review it is really appreciated so thanks. It was lovely to meet you, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days after the new year. The cottages are beautiful and well cared for. But, the hospitality sets this place apart. The family who owns the property were very warm, and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. If we make our way back to this part of the world, we will visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

What wonderful words, it is really appreciated and thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family of three including our two and half year old daughter could not have had a better three night stay here at Clive Cottages. We were there in December of 2012 and had the Bellbird two bedroom which was a perfect size for our small family.

Sandra welcomed us with a tour of the fabulous property complete with fruit trees and all kinds of animals: pigs, a cow, a sheep, chickens and a super friendly dog and cat.

There were fresh eggs among other complimentary breads and jam for breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the cottage overall a perfect size. Hawke's Bay is a beautiful place to explore for a wide variety of activities from cycling to wine and beach - and Clive is a perfect location in the heart of it all.

Neil and Sandra never hesitated to go out of there way to make us comfortable and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oh_duker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

It was a delight to meet your family and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the great review it is really appreciated. Do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic place and very good value. We enjoyed the attention to detail. The bed is really comfy and the whole place is very cosy and well thought. Sandra is delightful, the BBQ really handy and the hen's eggs very tasty :-) What a treat.
I wish there were many more places like this in NZ...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Many thanks for your amazing kind words, so glad you had a wonderful stay and really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
3.4 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
247 reviews
7.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
923 reviews
7.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
6.5 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
682 reviews
6.6 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 47 in Napier
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clive Colonial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Colonial Cottages

Address: 198 School Road, Clive 4102, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Clive
Price Range: $112 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clive Colonial Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable boutique self-catering accommodation in the heart of the Hawkes Bay. Just ten minutes from Napier, Hastings & Havelock North means you are not far away from the many attractions and activities that the region offers. Our three stand-alone cottages were the Top Pick for the Hastings District in the 2010 NZ Lonely Planet guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Clive Colonial Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing