We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clive Colonial Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Don't hesitate to book here. It's a lovely place. Private cottages with all you need to stay in and relax, or a close drive to fine local wineries. Walk to the beach. Friendly, accommodating hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzer410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
90
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Charming small group of cottages for a luxury overnight or extended stay. Caring hosts and pretty garden outdoors make it an ideal location for couples traveling Napier and surrounds. Little extras like books, dvd's and a games room as well as outdoor chess set and BBQ area make it even better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldcup2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Gorgeous cottage in tranquil surroundings. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The accommodation is beautifully presented, we had the 2 bedroom cottage, and the surrounding gardens just made it extra special. Would highly recommend you stay here if you're looking for a peaceful retreat. Perfectly situated for both Napier and Havelock North. The beach at Clive East is only a 5 minute stroll away. There's even a pool room and plenty of DVDs to choose from should you get bored... which I doubt!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We decided to treat ourselves from one of the "Charming Places To Stay" and chose this. A very compact but well-spaced lounge, kitchen, dining, queen bedroom and bathroom. Certainly has a 'cottagey' look and feel but very modern and pristine inside. Outside are lovely gardens and the owner told us to help ourselves to the fruit on the citrus trees. I appreciated using the free washing machine. A free continental breakfast was also provided on the first day of our stay. Really easy-to-get-with owners who obviously love, and are very proud of their cottages and the whole look (their reception, grounds etc.) that they have achieved.
The only useful things I would have liked added would have been a shelf in the bathroom for toilet bags, a silicon flap at the bottom of the shower door (lots of water got out), and a hook - also in the bathroom - to hang up clothing. Otherwise a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Cottages are all equal except the double one with 2 brms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Many Thanks for your lovely review of the cottages. We value these reviews and comments, and as such are in the process of sourcing an appropriate remedy/additions. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We loved staying here. We had our own little cottage to ourselves, which was almost like a little studio apartment with kitchenette, seating area, bed area. Very pretty. The hosts Betsy and Dave were extremely friendly and accommodating of our requests. They have a large very interesting woodland garden area. The cottages are well located in a quiet area between Napier, Havelock North, and Hastings, which has very good wineries. There is a lovely beach with very long walkway a 5 minute walk away. Cape Kidnappers is close (for tours of the Gannet colonies).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I booked this accommodation based on the lonely planet recommendation and we were definitely not disappointed. We felt really welcome here and it is a lovely set up with the cottages set back in a garden with various activities available. We could even borrow a baby bath for our little son! This place certainly is a hidden gem and the quality of the accommodation is excellent. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
3.4 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
244 reviews
7.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
7.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
52 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
6.5 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clive Colonial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Colonial Cottages

Property: Clive Colonial Cottages
Address: 198 School Road, Clive 4102, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clive Colonial Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable boutique self-catering accommodation in the heart of the Hawkes Bay. Just ten minutes from Napier, Hastings & Havelock North means you are not far away from the many attractions and activities that the region offers. Our three stand-alone cottages were the Top Pick for the Hastings District in the 2010 NZ Lonely Planet guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clive Colonial Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing