We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hang out for a coffee, food is so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mocha Jo's

Mocha Jo's
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hang out for a coffee, food is so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Been to Mocha Jo's numerous times for a coffee and for meals. They have excellent drink choices and do very nice smoothies. The atmosphere is great but can be a tad noisy.

My only beef with this place is the food. To me, they seem to lack consistency...seriously, how can a cesar salad come out differently 3 times and poached eggs shouldn't come out hard boiled...
The dessert aren't very nice either, the sticky date pudding tasted like there was 2 cups of sugar in it.... your better off walking over to Coco Lounge next door for amazing desserts.

Thumbs up if you want to have drinks and chill, but I won't be having meals here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTibbsMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    86
    25
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Over the last few years the level of service here has dropped such a pity.
Nice place to drop in for a coffee and dessert with friends

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CarlzDarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Poor service service who are more interested in themselves than the customer. One feels this as soon you enter and seated at a table. Always feel as though I am intruding upon a private party when I enter. The food is not to bad although spoilt by the service.

Helpful?
Thank Beatles1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“If You Should Find Yourself In Glen Waverley!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

It was no accident that I was at Mocha Jo's. I read about it on Tripadvisor! I had to go to Glen Waverley for a medical appointment and needed to find a decent place to have lunch when the cafe popped up on this website with fairly favorable reviews.
Mocha Jo's was doing a roaring trade at lunchtime but the waitress who greeted us managed to find us a table without any drama (or attitude). In fact, she was a friendly, pleasant presence throughout our meal, despite being very busy.
I had a nice, simple seafood risotto that was both fresh and hot and not too heavy. There were enough prawns to make me happy. My lunch companion had the calamari and was happy with it.
Decent coffee and a very nice orange juice completed our most satisfactory of meals.
And there is free parking around the corner, which beats being in the CBD, now every car park has a price! I recommend Mocha Jo's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaramutJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelers Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice, busy and good for people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food choice here is great, the service is mostly of a high standard, never poor, and on a warm day, sitting outside is great for people watching and taking in the busy high street. Personally I like their breakfasts although they dont seem as good in terms of VFM, but the tasty breaky burgur or eggs / spinach etc is great.

The coffee isnt up to much, far too bitter for someone who like it strong.

The staff are good, and attentive, and the wait is never that long to be served.

One of the better places on the GW strip.

Suffice to say we have been here several times at all times of the day.

Thanks

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mocha Jo's also viewed

Glen Waverley, Monash
Glen Waverley, Monash
 
Glen Waverley, Monash
Glen Waverley, Monash
 
Glen Waverley, Monash
Glen Waverley, Monash
 

Been to Mocha Jo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing