We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One nte stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    204
    89
    22
    7
See reviews for
82
129
47
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you know the standard of the Ibis Hotels around the world, this Ibis rates up there with the best in this brand. Basic amenities and the rooms a bit small as most Ibis Hotel rooms are.

There was nothing wrong with any of the products or services offered to me and the room (316) I resided in for 10 days was clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was basic but more than adequate and it was also very clean.

The food in the restaurant was good and to the standard I expect of IBIS Hotels although the full breakfast was a little basic. The quality of food was good.

The staff were friendly and well trained. The location of the hotel was excellent and close to the restaurant scene of Glen Waverley (200 metres). A cab from the Melbourne CBD will cost about $60 (30 to 40 minutes) and to the airport about $100 (about 60minutes non peak hour)).

Overall my stay at this hotel was very good. I give it 4 stars.

Room Tip: Parking is a little expensive at $18.00 per day. Other hotels in the area do not charge for parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastTezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear GoldCoastTezza,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

The location of the Hotel offers much in the way of entertainment and shopping and many of our guests comment on the location.

Our car park is a secure undercover car park and is monitored.The availabiltiy of parking in the area is limited and the majority of Hotels in the area only offer open air car parking.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff are great. Rooms are clean but small and bathroom is like a caravan design bathroom where cheapest parts are used. No Mini Bar!!!!!

Good location and walking distance to many Resturant's.

I do recommend Ibis for value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gchjlfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Geoffoster,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley.

I was pleased to read that our team memebers made your stay comfortable and the Hotel offered value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Melbouren Glen Waverley next time you are in the area.

Regards

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, NSW
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was my first stay at an Ibis branded hotel. I got there late (around 10.45pm) and just wanted to get to my room so I could sleep. The reception staff member was brilliant: genuinely friendly and made check in a breeze. I thought the car parking was actually better than the nearby Novotel - I found the spaces bigger and easier to manage. The room was not huge, but large enough and modern, clean and quiet. Breakfast was ok - the restaurant was swamped by a sports team(s?) all coming down at the same time, so finding a place to sit which had cutlery etc ready was a challenge. The food was ok. Was it value for money? For the price charged for the room and parking there could have been better value options around, but I had no complaints about the hotel itself. At check out, the reception staff were once again excellent: full marks to them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Germanaussie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Germanaussie67,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff are very friendly enough; all smiles and everything, which is the only reason I didn't give this a "terrible" rating, but the prices they charge for the basics which are usually complimentary at other hotels around the world are shocking.

For starters in addition to the nightly rate for a simple tiny room of $120 a night you also have to pay an extra $18 a day for parking. I could almost understand this charge if the hotel was in the heart of the CBD where public transport is abundant, but this hotel is a good ways out and to make matters worse they don't want to take any responsibility for any damage or theft to your car. So they'll take your $18 a day but does that provide a security guard for the parking garage? Does it help pay for a monitored security system? Even a security camera? NO! It's going into someone's pure profit bank. No wonder they don't want to take responsibility for anything. Can you imagine if Qantas charged $25 for checking your bag, it either gets lost or damaged and them telling you "sorry, your tough luck!" Internet access is a whopping $25 an hour for a slow connect speed to boot!

The room itself was clean and tidy, but then again so is my bedroom closet at home, which is about the same size. There is no dresser, no tall boy, no nightstand with drawers or anyway to store anything. Just a lousy doorless wardrobe that's already crowded with an ironing board and iron. the room is so small that with two suitcases in the way and a pair of shoes in the floor, the room looks a mess; it's that small. The is a desk that looks like it was put together as an afterthought; maybe a clearance item from Fantastic Furniture or something. A tiny fridge is in the room, which is a plus, but in my opinion it's like having a hundred litres of gasoline and no car to put it in.

The restaurant is pricey! The food is bland but edible, but not worth the prices they are charging for it and to add insult to injury, they tack on another 1.5% surcharge for credit cards.

I'm really disappointed with this hotel and I've only been here for 4 hours so far! it was not my decision to stay here, my company made that choice for me, but next time I'm out of town on business I will flat out refuse to stay at any hotel owned and operated by the Ibis chain!

If you like throwing money away for no apparent reason, then you'll love this place!

It's not the worse place I've stayed at, but it's by far the worst value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesL2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear JamesL2074,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am dissapointed to read that you did not find the Hotel offered you any value.

We have any guests stay throughout the week and weeekends and we receive many commnets on the good value the Hotel offers. Our car park is secure under cover car park monitored 24 hours. In the area parking is limited and is all timed .The local parking inspectors are very diligent and a parking ticket is far more exensive than the rate we charge.

I appreciate your commetns on the foods in the restaurant and will share these with the Chef so we may improve our offering. Our credit card surcharge is in place to cover costs of this service and you will find this is quite common these days in many organisations.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you may reconsider using the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley when you are next in the area.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Secure parking (important when travelling on my own), good location and the room had all the necessary appointments. The complimentary magazine deivered to my room was a much appreciated touch. Staff were very pleasant and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarravalleyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear yarravalleyie,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the magazine,we endeavour to make each guests stay enjoyable with little extras.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is reasonably well presented but the rooms are very small. The 2 single beds were so close to each other with no ability to push them further apart.

Check in was painful after waiting in line for over 20 minutes I companied as it was obvious that there was still at least another half hours wait, I was apologised to and told we are short staffed.
People dont pay and wish to stand in line for an hour which is part of the time they had paid for to be relaxing in the room due to incompetent staffing levels

Room Tip: The hotel is close to amenities and restaurants If you have to get a hotel room with 2 single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear BjL,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley.

I was dissapointed to read that the check in process was way too long.This is not our normal standard and we do not deliberately understaff the Front Office or any other areas of the Hotel.I offer my apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your party.I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future so you can experience the service standard we strive to deliver to all our guests.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be a pleasant one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Waverley
0.1 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
3.3 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#1 of 3 in Burwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street
7.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Dandenong
Ramada Encore Dandenong
#1 of 5 in Dandenong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waverley International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley

Property: Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Address: 297 Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes drive from Melbourne’s city centre and 45 minutes from the airport, Ibis Glen Waverley is perfectly positioned for business or leisure travel. Your gateway to the beautiful Dandenong Ranges and a short stroll from Century City Walk Entertainment Complex, the hotel offers travellers the best vantage point to take in Victoria’s colourful capital. Only two minutes from Novotel Glen Waverley, this charming hotel boasts 155 comfortable standard and superior rooms, a delightful Bistro & Bar and 4 modern conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glen Waverley
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing