We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Day accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Glen Waverley
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Christmas Day accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Usual quality standard Novotel facility. Visiting relatives on Christmas Day and the Novotel provided convenient and good standard accommodation close by to our relatives. MIght not be the ideal venue for visitors to Melbourne due to its suburban location remote from the CBD/downtown (approx 25km); but would ideal for business travellers visiting nearby by commercial/business parks. The hotel was very busy due to Christmas functions etc - staff coped with situation very well and provided a friendly and warm service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White1234, Manager at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Happy New Year! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas with your family and it is great that you were able to stay so close to your family and celebrations. We certainly were very busy during the Christmas and New Year celebrations and I thank you for the feedback in regards to our staff offering you and everyone warm service . I will pass these wonderful comments onto the team. Wishing you a safe and wonderful New Year and we hope to see you again in 2012.
Kind regards
Jodie White
Assistant Manager
E-mail H2068-DM03@accor.com / Phone 03 8561 2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    443
    106
    22
    11
See reviews for
294
306
100
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel with my son. I have stayed before. We booked on the web and I requested a twin room with 2 double beds. When we arrived we were greeted well and checked in without delay. However, when we got to our room, we found it had only one double bed. We returned to the desk and were told that even though I had requested 2 beds, as the booking was for 2 adults (my son is 18 so I had to mark him as an adult as well), they assumed that we were an adult couple and as such would share a bed. Errrr, as this was clearly not the case, I explained why I had specifically requested 2 beds. I was told it was hotel policy to put "couples" (assumed as 2 adults) in to the double rooms first on busy nights to leave larger rooms free for (presumably?) late bookings. I think this is a presumptuous policy, but anyway, the very helpful staff sorted this out quickly and we were allocated a new room with 2 very comfortable double beds. I found the hotel very comfortable overall but it is looking a bit tired, especially the bathrooms and pool area. The thing that makes this hotel special is the staff. They are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a bun-fight though, given that there were heaps of families with young children pushing and running around - so were the children! The area is really to small when the hotel is busy. The buffet was very good but a bit boring. I too found both my salt and pepper shakers empty and had no cutlery. This is a puzzle as there seems to be a lot of staff racing around all through the service. I hear a refit is about to commence, so that will be good and I would definately stay again. The bedding is very comfortable and we found our room very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms can be niosy due to guests in the passage ways, so ask for one as far away from the lift as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White1234, Manager at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Happy New Year! Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley. Ity was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by the staff. Please be assured I will pass on your comments in regards to saying that the staff make this hotel special. It was a delight to read. My apologies for the error when arriving at the hotel and finding that you were placed in a room with only one bed. We were wrong to assume you were a couple staying and your comments and booking have made us aware to be more careful. During your stay we had a large group in the hotel and it seems everyone does like to come down to breakfast at the one time. Do you have any suggestions on what you would like to see offered at breakfast to make it more special for our guests? As you are aware, we are having renovations to our rooms in the middle of the year and this will make our rooms more livelier. I do hope you return and get a chance to come and have a look at our new rooms.
Kind regards
Jodie White
Assistant Manager
E-mail H2068-DM03@accor.com / Phone 03 8561 2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years and I am usually pleased. The location is superb however this visit the experience was disappointing. I even paid for an upgraded room to a Junior Suite to surprise my children.
When we checked in and saw the room for the first time I was immediately overwhelmed by just how boring it was. Considering the price of the room I have significantly better furniture, bedding, TV’s etc at home. There were lengths of cotton on the floor that were easily seen by all.
The next morning we ate in the hotel restaurant as breakfast was included. The restaurant was unset and untidy even though there was several staff appearing very busy doing very little. We had to get our own cutlery & serviettes. Then the salt shakers were empty too. I had to almost wave my arm off to get the staff’s attention to order a coffee.
We returned to our room that was being serviced and grabbed our bathers and headed to the pool. This is an indoor pool that has little to no noise dampening plants or items resulting in a noisy and echo filled swim. We returned to the room which was serviced and noticed the cotton still on the floor.
The next morning we all eat breakfast in a local cafe to avoid the repeat of the previous breakfast.
I am sure the hotel can improve its performance. We will be staying there again as I previously said, it is a great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White1234, Manager at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent return stay with us at Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am sorry to read your stay was not as pleasing as all the previous stays and you do not like our choice of furniture and amenities. You may like to know that we are having renovations to our rooms next year which will be great for all. In regards to your breakfast issues, please be assured I will be passing your comments onto the Food and Beverage Manager to be aware of and make sure the staff are aware, so we can improve our services to our guests. I will also be speaking to the houskeeping staff in regards to the pieces of cotton on the floor to make sure they vacuum correctly.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally when returning to the hotel.
Kind regards
Jodie White
Assistant Manager
E-mail H2068-DM03@accor.com / Phone 03 8561 2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Novotel Glen Waverley numerous times and would not hesitate to continue in doing so. The price is extremely affordable, the staff are very friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean and there are heaps of wonderful restaurants to eat at, bowling, movies and The Glen Shopping Centre all within walking distance. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White1234, Manager at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Welcome back! Great to know our guests keep coming back to Novotel Glen Waverley to visit us again and again because of the rooms, facilities, friendly staff and of course lower prices on the weekends. We look forward to your next visit and if you have any special requests, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.
Warm regards
Jodie White
Assistant Manager
E-mail H2068-DM03@accor.com / Phone 03 8561 2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was our first stay at Novotel Glen Waverly and we have nice experience staying in it. Hotel room was cleaned and well maintained. Location was excellent with nearby Metlink rail station and so convenient to go downtown.
Breakfast was nice as well with lots of varieties and no problem on the food.
Keep it up and compliments goes to all the friendly staff.
We are looking forward to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White1234, Manager at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
I will certainly pass your remarks onto our team and am proud to be one of the lucky staff members to work at Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley. I was so happy to see your review and that you had a nice experience with us and are looking forward to returning already. We would love to welcome you back. Great to see you ate breakfast with us. I always love the brekky here and see so many happy and full guests walking by reception.
Do not hesitate to contact me personally for any future enquiries or bookings.
Warm regards
Jodie White
Assistant Manager
E-mail H2068-DM03@accor.com / Phone 03 8561 2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

A decent hotel , over priced for value , Drinking water 1 bottle every day should be complimentary for the amount they are charging , location good with Cinemas , eating joints , bowling alley , hotel did not replace the water consumed bottles , buffet Break fast is good quality should pre book on line , Front desk staff was very friendly , should lower the internet rates , and should allow at least 2 hrs use in lobby Area , the 30 minute free use in 24hrs is too less

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiasmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White1234, Manager at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit with us at Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley. You may like to know that we have recently lowered the price of internet in the rooms and increased the amount of down load including the free down load usage in the lobby each day. Did you get a chance to use the free Imacs for guests in the lounge? I am sorry the mini bar was not replaced in your room during your stay. Please be assured this is not usually the case and we also like to let guests know that the water in the taps is safe to drink without purchasing water. I will pass your wonderful comments onto the Front office team.
Thank you and we do hope you visit again.
Warm regards
Jodie White
Assistant Manager
E-mail H2068-DM03@accor.com / Phone 03 8561 2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of service we received. The staff was very considerate and went out of their way to be helpful. Really made a difference to our holiday. The location is just great, very close to shops and a range of good restaurants and coffee shops.

Room Tip: Rooms above level 4 facing Springvale Road would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White1234, Manager at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Great to read your tip on which level to enjoy a great stay on. We would love to see more of these tips. Sincere thanks and appreciation for your comments in regards to your stay and am so happy to see you were well looked after (which often makes a stay). As a resident of the area, I love to visit the local restaurants like you did and enjoy a coffee whilst watching the world go by.
I hope you get a chance to do this again soon.
Warm regards
Jodie White
Assistant Manager
E-mail H2068-DM03@accor.com / Phone 03 8561 2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Waverley
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,248 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glen Waverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glen Waverley

Property: Novotel Glen Waverley
Address: 285 Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Glen Waverley 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley is ideally located in the centre of the City of Monas.The 200 room hotel is adjacent to a cinema complex and surrounded by over 35 restaurants and cafes, including Centro The Glen Shopping Centre, while a 2 minute walk to the Railway Station gives direct access to the city centre, Melbourne Cricket Ground and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Glen Waverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glen Waverley Hotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Melbourne
Accor Glen Waverley
Glen Waverley Novotel
Novotel Glen Waverley Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing