We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor for wat i paid”
Review of Glen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glen Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Melbourne
1 review
“very poor for wat i paid”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

i was very disappointed with wat accessories we had for staying five nights nothing to cook on only microwave but then no bowls to use for it, no coffee cups only tea cups, no utensils had to outsource tea every night got very costly, washing machine only worked on one cycle didnt know had to read wall...would not stay there again all other motels we stayed at on a way around melbourne were cheaper and had everything we needed...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank anthea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    14
    10
    21
See reviews for
31
11
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times it very easy to get to and offers great value for money. It is close to some major attractions like Chadstone shopping centre the Glen and Sandown race course, will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Island, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

With business in Melborne, I was searching for a good place to stay at a reasonable price and it had to be very clean. Everything was there at the Glen Inn and even a little more .. the kind personal touch of a small operator. Location wise the hotel is however a 15-20 min drive to the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were a bit hesitant at the beginning as we intended to stay for an extended period, but were very pleasantly surprised about, well, everything. I admit that I also do like nostalgic brick buildings. The rooms are relatively large, very clean, the staff were very good to us and our kid! The continental brekkie could maybe be a little more ample ($9 toast and cereals, coffee/tea), while the cooked one was quite large. Also, important for us, to park the car in front of the room when coming back from a tour. The Twin rooms include 3 persons (one bed for the baby) in the price and once we were upgraded to a Family room. On one hand the location was ideal to visit Victoria .... Mornington Peninsula, Phillip Island, Dandenongs, Yarra Valley etc. . . .. and on the other we easily visited the city and museums and large (Chadstone) shopping places. We finally stayed repeatedly during this trip, every time when returning to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for free Internet (cheeky)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was once a reasonable option to stay,even though it's not as close to things as advertised. Now it seems managers care more about making money and playing on computers than looking after customers. Everything seems an effort and done to minimum. Maintenance lacking-eg no batteries working in remotes,phone may or may not be in room, you'd be lucky to have 2 towels in a double room, basics like biscuits and enough coffee,sugar etc might not be stocked, there's a toaster but nolonger plates or cutlery. The free Internet advertised isn't provided. There is a lot of staff turnover with many overseas working holiday people and that shows in lack of knowledge or care. Surely the owners of this place don't visit because they should be doing something about the deterioration of such an investment. As you can read, this is really a poor choice nowadays.

Room Tip: Find a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glen Waverley hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The customer service was fantastic initially and we were happy when we booked. We checked out our rooms and had to have a few things around the place fixed as they were not the cleanest, including the carpet. During our stay we were accused by the staff of dirtying there carpets even though we had not done anything as we were out most of the time and only came to sleep. The motel staff took money automatically from our credit card for the extra dry cleaning and on top of that we were charged for extra two people occupancy when we were told at the time of booking that we would not be charged for the amount of people we had booked- and only would be if the people went over the amount of guests we had told. To this day nobody from the motel has called back and discussed the issue with us despite repeated attempts to resolve the matter as we were misinformed and the motel has just taken the money without reason. I would never book there again- they are just making money by ripping off the guests!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Im in a wheelchair, so the disabled facilities werew fine. Basically all I needed was somewhere to sleep, put my bags, have a shower and the Glen Inn catered for that. The staff were lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Waverley
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
1.5 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,068 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sandown Regency
Sandown Regency
#2 of 2 in Noble Park
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Waverley International Hotel
1.9 mi away
Clayton Monash Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
1.1 mi away
Quest Glen Waverley
Quest Glen Waverley
#1 of 6 in Glen Waverley
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Inn

Property: Glen Inn
Address: 605 Ferntree Gully Rd, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia (Formerly Mulgrave Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GLEN INN Motel is conveniently located inbetween Melbourne's Monash eastern suburbs Glen Waverley, Notting Hill, Mulgrave, Clayton, Wheelers Hill near the corner Springvale Road / Ferntree Gully Road. The motel lies opposite of the Village Green Entertainment Complex, near the M1 Monash Freeway and just a 5-minute drive from the Eastlink. The M1 provides easy access to the City of Melbourne, Federation Square, the Opera and Southbank. The Glen Inn is situated right across from the Brandon Park Shopping Centre for all immediate needs. However, shopping is available at its best either at the Chadstone Shopping Centre or The Glen both at a short distance. Monash University Clayton campus is 2-3 bus-stops away and the motel is a 5 minute walk to the Victorian Rehabilitation centre, near the Police Academy, the Great Monash Aquatic Centre and other sporting locations and golf venues in the area. The Glen Inn motel offers air-conditioned rooms. All rooms are equipped with modern facilities. Superior and Standard Queen rooms are generous in size and well furnished. The cosy rooms at the Glen Inn feature large flatscreen TV's with 24hr movie satellite channels, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and a work desk and a sofa couch or second bed. Enjoy Family rooms, a Superior Wheelchair Access Room and Superior SPA room. Only the self-contained 3 Bedroom apartments have a fully equipped kitchen. FREE PARKING & FREE WIFI is available for all guests! An affordable, mouth watering all you can eat lunch and dinner smorgasbord buffet is offered consisting of an Asian section, Hot roast carvery, Mediteranean options, with all your favourite chicken, fish, pizza & seafood dishes, salad bar, a kids section and hot and cold desserts and fantastic shows and sensations are offered by the Village Green Hotel entertainment complex, just opposite! Faxing, photocopying and mailing facilities are available at reception. Small meeting rooms, up to 20 persons, can be made available. Pets (please enquire for availability) can be accommodated for designated rooms. The extra cost for pets is $15.- p.n. For check-in before 2:30pm or after 10pm please contact reception through phone or email. Discover Victoria from this great spot. Tour the Dandenong Ranges, Philip Island, the Mornington Peninsula or the Great Ocean Road from here. Ask us for advice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Inn Glen Waverley, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing