We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waverley International Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked in by employer, but not again. This is a motel next to a very busy main road.

Problems
Door lock on room didn't work, couldn't get in all the time.
Excessive traffic noise from the main road just outside the window, I had to put mattress over window to reduce noise. Slept on cushions - but not very well. A design flaw in hotel as no double glazing, or they could of put the bathroom on the road side to insulate room. Poor design.
Complained about above and got "upgraded" to a spa room, its the same ! but not on main road so can get some sleep. Except have to jam door as rattles and poured shampoo down drain to stop smell.
Expensive for what it is.

Good points
Location good near restaurants
Clean
staff good
clean
reasonable state of repair

Room Tip: get a room on kingsway side definitely not on 2nd floor on main road, ground floor has thick wall wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLJ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was my second stay at this place. The staff was very helpful . This being a business tour didnt spend much time in the hotel. The rooms are clean , and rather economical. There are lot of good food options nearby.

Room Tip: Good place for business travellers, if you want to stay in Glen Waverley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhijit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Basketball teams (3) stayed for 3 nights June long weekend. Really good group booking rate considering a long weekend. Rooms clean and tidy (twin room with singles or king size bed (was huge and very comfortable). Nice big flat screen. Free Internet would be great. Rooms not huge but comfortable enough for 2 adults. Bathroom spacious, well lit, modern and good water pressure.. Reverse cycle aircon/heater was much appreciated in Melb winter. We were on the street off Springvale road (opposite Ibis Hotel) so nice and quiet, only noise from occasional clunking of water pipes or noisy guests coming home late in the evening! Ample parking, good layout for sports teams in groups as easy to get to each others rooms. Fabulous location walking to Novotel Glen Waverley shopping, restaurants (great Malaysian "Straits of Malacca", lotsa Asian cuisine) cinema/bowling and the Centro Glen Waverley shopping centre (supermarkets etc). Did not use room service or restaurant facilities but Lauren was extremely helpful in accommodating our team in the restaurant area for team pizza dinner. Great customer service checkout day with prompt phone calls to guests leaving personal belongings behind in the room. Motel (yes, not really a hotel and not "international") could entice more groups by tailoring accomm packages to include breakfast at a reasonable room rate ( hint: Novotel Glen Waverley do a great package for 4 people including breakfast for the Nunawading June long weekend basketball tournament. Really pleasantly surprised at this one and highly recommended for great value accommodation in Glen Waverley.

Room Tip: Choose room in street off Springvale Road (opposite the Ibis hotel) and on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for business. Highway rooms were noisy, the hotel lacked facilities and rooms very basic.

Staff were friendly and rooms clean.
I would hardly describe as an "international hotel".

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fan-tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this place and found the whole experience very very good. From the check in to departure we were very impressed. The rooms were very clean and tidy and the cafes up the road were outstanding with their coffees. Would not hesitate to stay at this place again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Very clean and quiet, quality sleep assured. Well rested after a long flight to Melbourne. If free wifi provided, that would be perfect!

I stayed in Room 220, the nut at the doorlock seems missing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeeHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Agree with prior reviewers - this place is a genuine Motel - ie. all rooms face the carpark.
I stayed here as my first choice in the area - Quest Glen Waverley - was not available.

The carpark is an open air carpark - just what you need during a Melbourne Winter. At checkin my license was taken and details entered into a computer - My understanding of the privacy act is limited but pretty sure that if you do this, you need to have your privacy policy clearly displayed - didn't see that anywhere - but I was too tired to query it.

The first room I was given stunk of cigarette smoke. When i returned to reception to advise them of this, they asked "so, do you want another room?" - ah, yes, the Casino hotels are really the only locations in Australia that still have smoking rooms!

Only 1 room key was provided, with it being one of those keys that needs to remain in place to operate all electricity - including the heater. This meant that if you needed to step out, yoru room would be freezing when you returned.

BAthroom was clean, but pipe noise was amazingly loud. Limited analog TV channels.

Hot food is available from reception, but food options in Glenwaverley are so close not sure why you'd bother with room service.

Overall, I'd suggest paying not much more and staying at the brand new Quest up the road, or for the same price stay at the Ibis across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanouhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Waverley
0.2 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
#2 of 4 in Glen Waverley
463 reviews
3.3 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Golden Pebble Melbourne
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
157 reviews
6.6 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Glen Inn
Glen Inn
#4 of 4 in Glen Waverley
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley International Hotel

Address: 301 Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range: $73 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waverley International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley International Hotel is located in one of Melbourne's major commercial precincts, Glen Waverley, 20km south-east of the city, close to entertainment, shops and sporting venues. In this spacious complex 65 accommodation rooms are available with all the comforts of a luxury hotel plus 6 brand new two bedroom apartments all with the personal attention that only a small establishment can offer. Well positioned in the heart of Melbourne's south-eastern business district, our spacious, fully-equipped and serviced conference rooms are the perfect setting for business meetings, presentations or seminars. The Waverley International Hotel is fully licensed and caters for local and international cuisine from our A la Carte menu, served in our warm and graceful dining area. Sip your favorite drink or enjoy a coffee at our in-house bar, or we can also serve you anytime in the comfort and convenience of your own room. Centrally located with excellent public transport facilities, restaurants, health and leisure clubs, shopping centres, cinemas and golf courses, our friendly staff will ensure that your stay at The Waverley International Hotel will be a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Waverley International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley International Hotel Glen Waverley, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing