We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waverley International Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this place and found the whole experience very very good. From the check in to departure we were very impressed. The rooms were very clean and tidy and the cafes up the road were outstanding with their coffees. Would not hesitate to stay at this place again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 145 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Very clean and quiet, quality sleep assured. Well rested after a long flight to Melbourne. If free wifi provided, that would be perfect!

I stayed in Room 220, the nut at the doorlock seems missing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeeHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Agree with prior reviewers - this place is a genuine Motel - ie. all rooms face the carpark.
I stayed here as my first choice in the area - Quest Glen Waverley - was not available.

The carpark is an open air carpark - just what you need during a Melbourne Winter. At checkin my license was taken and details entered into a computer - My understanding of the privacy act is limited but pretty sure that if you do this, you need to have your privacy policy clearly displayed - didn't see that anywhere - but I was too tired to query it.

The first room I was given stunk of cigarette smoke. When i returned to reception to advise them of this, they asked "so, do you want another room?" - ah, yes, the Casino hotels are really the only locations in Australia that still have smoking rooms!

Only 1 room key was provided, with it being one of those keys that needs to remain in place to operate all electricity - including the heater. This meant that if you needed to step out, yoru room would be freezing when you returned.

BAthroom was clean, but pipe noise was amazingly loud. Limited analog TV channels.

Hot food is available from reception, but food options in Glenwaverley are so close not sure why you'd bother with room service.

Overall, I'd suggest paying not much more and staying at the brand new Quest up the road, or for the same price stay at the Ibis across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanouhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I agree with previous reviews. This is a motel, NOT an International Hotel.
Starting with the good stuff. The rooms are very clean, reasonably appointed and modern. Beds are good and bedding good quality. Bathrooms are spotless.
No Foxtel. No info in the compendium. No pool. Where do they get "International Hotel"?


Now down the ridiculous check-in system:
1. Present credit card.
They will HOLD $150 for a $119 room. This amount will not be released by the bank for 3-5 days (if you were to pay by method other than that card). Imagine if you were staying in different motels every night for a few weeks, which I do. If all motels did this I would have large amounts of money HELD and unavailable. I wanted to pay by a different card in the morning and I was told about the Hold for the funds. Not good.

2. Present Drivers Licence. This will be photocopied. For what reason I do not know.

3. I said I wanted to check out early and pay NOW. I was told I can do that BUT I will have to leave a $50 cash deposit for the key. That means there is no point to paying up front.

This is an outrageous distrustful poor way of treating guests. I was annoyed and under normal circumstances I would go elsewhere just for the principal. More and more motels are doing these things and it is time to take a stand by going elsewhere.

I informed the morning clerk or my annoyance. She was friendly, courteous and perhaps embarrassed about the requirements, but what can she do. I asked her to pass my dissatisfaction to the manager and asked them to read this review. So the manager will be aware of the Trip Advisor reviews that all seem the same complaints. Let;s see she (manager) replies to this. A good manager will respond and they will need to make changes to this stupid policy.

So, this is a great motel. Clean modern and well appointed. Totally spoilt by stupid customer service. The poor desk clerk's must cop an ear bashing daily.

I need to go back the that area soon. I will try the Novatel or Ibis. If they do the same I shall go elsewhere. I have vowed never to hand my licence to a motel again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ACEPMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Quality hotel,with cinema /restaurant complex next door, ....need to have a good reason to stay in this migrant suburb

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laughagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

I had book 3 days in advance for an overnight stay in the weekedn at Waverley International hotel through Wotif, which is perhaps more a nice motel.
We checked in late before midnight, as we had spent the evening in the city of Melbourne with our friends. While checking in , I was told that they the only suite available is the disabled executive suite and it is not much different from a normal executive suite , the only difference will be having a hand shower. I was unhappy with this and she looked again and said she actually has got one executive suite leff, then she told me that will take a $50 for a key deposit and as I did not have cash on me, the receptionist took a print of the credit card( which is perhaps a more usual practice in many hotels). However the receptionist also wanted to take a copy of my drivers licence and retain it, just because they do this as a routine. I told her that I will be happy only to show her my ID/drivers licence though I will not allow her to take a copy of it . She insisted that she will return the copy at checkout , though I rejected this as well( this was very stupid suggestion, as you can simply take a copy of the copy and retain the second copy !!!) I asked her why she would need that, as she has got my address, she can double check it with the id , she has got the credit card detail and I have already paid by the wotif ? Also I told her that this is a very unusual routine to take a copy of the drivers licence.. She did not have much to add . It too k her half an hour to check us in , at midnight which was totally unpleasont and disturbing for us, big annoyance and meaningless
The room was a normal room, clean and good size , on the frist floor , so you have to carry your luggage to upstairs.
I found the hotel very average overall.as I would not like to spend half an hour to check in.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I stayed here for two nights. I paid $100 a night. However the reception asks for a $50 cash deposit for the key which is returned upon leaving. I thought this was a bit rude and excessive.

The rooms are fairly spacious and very clean. Everything worked well and it is a quiet place. There is a long window in the bathroom over the mirror in the bathroom. Which means you have to bend down to use it. Just down the road is a shopping centre, it is probably walking distance, but I drove.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OzTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Thank you for your time to give a useful review. We will try our best to make your next stay more comfortable. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Waverley
0.2 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
3.3 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Inn
Glen Inn
#4 of 4 in Glen Waverley
94 reviews
2.2 mi away
Burwood East Motel
Burwood East Motel
#3 of 3 in Burwood
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley International Hotel

Address: 301 Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range: $81 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waverley International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley International Hotel is located in one of Melbourne's major commercial precincts, Glen Waverley, 20km south-east of the city, close to entertainment, shops and sporting venues. In this spacious complex 65 accommodation rooms are available with all the comforts of a luxury hotel plus 6 brand new two bedroom apartments all with the personal attention that only a small establishment can offer. Well positioned in the heart of Melbourne's south-eastern business district, our spacious, fully-equipped and serviced conference rooms are the perfect setting for business meetings, presentations or seminars. The Waverley International Hotel is fully licensed and caters for local and international cuisine from our A la Carte menu, served in our warm and graceful dining area. Sip your favorite drink or enjoy a coffee at our in-house bar, or we can also serve you anytime in the comfort and convenience of your own room. Centrally located with excellent public transport facilities, restaurants, health and leisure clubs, shopping centres, cinemas and golf courses, our friendly staff will ensure that your stay at The Waverley International Hotel will be a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waverley International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley International Hotel Glen Waverley, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing