We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED”

Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $70
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Songbirds' creative culinary team selects the finest ingredients and uses organic produce when possible. Meals are prepared in a fresh, innovative style and served in a beautiful environment. The menu changes frequently to ensure diners enjoy the freshest seasonal flavours. Restaurant open for lunch Wednesday to Sunday and dinners Friday to Sunday
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What started out so well ended so badly ....... we went as a large group to celebrate an 18th birthday , floor staff were great (thanks Luke/Michelle), food was ok without being outstanding . The disappointing part came when 3 of the party decided to stay overnight in our cabin, foldout beds were promptly setup and made , but the shock didn't hit until next morning when we were charged an extra $200 for the 2 fold out beds this was on top of the $350 we had already paid for the cabin (which by the way is a little dated and could do with a good clean, windows above sliding doors are very dirty ). We are of the opinion that $200 was excessive for the fold out beds , and I expressed this nicely to the owner only to fall on deaf ears .

    • Value
Thank Chris and Kandi... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Sorry Chris but you need to check with Candi and the girls who were drinking in the lounge around the fire as often happens at Songbirds.You were up in your villa watching TV. The problem was that much merriment and wine had been consumed and there was no way anyone could drive back to the coast. The staff are trained on dealing with this and offered to call a taxi which would cost almost $200 then you would have had to get back up and collect a car/s the next day as well.Our villas were completely full as they are very weekend so we had no spare villas to offer. Our staff called me and asked if we could possibly help with roll away beds in the villa you had booked as you war all close friends and it was wg=hat the girls wanted. I wasn't keen but we needed to solve the issue and it did at the time seem like the best option. You girls were excited about this apt ion instead of driving and our staff DEFINITELY told them it would be $50 extra per person and they said that was fine. It was around 9pm and you had enjoyed a lovely long lunch so I called in staff to get the villa ready... that is 2 extra rollaway beds to be driven up and assembled, linen for them and also for the couch, 4 extra pillows, 4 extra towels and 4 face washers. we then have to have them collected and the linen laundered. NO HOTEL DOES THIS FOR FREE CHRIS. We are on 52 acres in the rainforest, the villas are divine but extra beds don't come from a storage area in a hotel, up an escalator, and into a room. They have to be transported up to your private villa by a car on the road into it. Hotels with easier access still charge $50 extra per person. The amount we charged was minimal for the extra work that had to be done. Unfortunately after this we will not offer to assist in this manner again... the option will be an expensive taxi and someone needing to drive and pick up vehicles the next day. Your group had such a lovely time with us and I very much regret that you were so angry with our staff and felt a need to complain with Trip Advisor over this issue. Our staff explained clearly how and why the charge was on your account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 195 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Menu and food are on the level of best restaurants in the world. Beautiful outdoor setting and design. Service is impeccable. I had prawns for starters and quail for main, both perfect. The restaurant is hidden in the forest and away from the beaten path but well worth the trip (about 45 minutes drive from Surfers Paradise, 10 minutes drive from the Gallery Walk in Tamborine Village). I understand why this restaurant keeps winning awards and prizes, justified. Perfect for a marriage proposal! Book in advance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks, both for making time to write a review, AND for loving what we do. Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had lunch here on Sunday to celebrate my Sister-in-Law's 60th birthday in a group of around 15. It was very, very special! Her 2 sisters arrived from New Zealand and we had a very memorable day. The service and food were exceptional. They had a good wine list to choose from however a bit 'pricey' but we were glad to enjoy great food and wine for this memorable occasion.
Nothing was too much trouble and we were free to relocate to warmer areas or enjoy the garden for photos and the wonderful bird life in the grounds was fantastic.
Would highly recommend and would love to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thanks for making time to share your thoughts on last Sunday's lunch. It was a really busy day for us so I was thrilled we could still look after you well. Because we support many smaller vineyards making wine with minimal interference we do not have the cheaper wines made in larger quantities on our wine list. I understand how frustrating it is to be really ripped off for wines so try to keep the mark ups and low as possible for the style of wines we carry, and for the service that we offer.
Your group were a real pleasure to have at Songbirds and I hope we get to see you again sometime soon. Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Songbirds at Mt tambourine is a must for any traveller what a beutifull setting in the rainforest of the GoldCoast. The food and ambience are both excellent. But if you want to enjoy the wonderful wine list they have then arrange to stay on the property in one of there cabins, its pure indulgence, but in our hard working lives why not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EuropeAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Many thanks for making time to site a nice review about us. Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Bonnie, Your team were fantastic!.
Luke was highly knowledgeable and passionate about his food and wine. Wine selection was excellent and the chef is to be highly commended on what was a 5course taste and visual delight.

Perfect way to celebrate my 20th wedding anniversary with my beautiful wife!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KEYDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks Gordon (I'm thinking it was you as I saw the booking!!). Sorry I wasn't there however I'm thrilled you were well looked after. Our new Chef De Cuisine is the first 'girl' in the role for us - I'm so thrilled that we've had SO many good comments about her food in the short time she's been in charge of the kitchen. Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat also viewed

North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
 
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
 

Been to Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing