We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a welcome relief!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Witches Falls Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Witches Falls Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a welcome relief!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

Having just bought a new car my wife and I decided to have a three week driving holiday. A "lap" taking in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane, mostly staying in B&B's and Self contained cottages. After several disasters in three states we were getting quite nervous at the end of each days travel. What a welcome relief it was arriving at Witches Falls Cottages on Mount Tamborine. The cabins, The atmosphere, The people running the place - Fantastic!
The unexpected bonus was the breakfast... We normally try to escape to a coffee shop but when the home baked hot bread and condiments arrived we were hooked! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimosabiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    21
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
217
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

we chose this location because we had stayed at these cottages before. The first time we went there it was yet to be refurbished, and we loved it then and on this occasion everything was brand new and fantastic.
We couldnt be happier with witches falls cottages, it's our favourite place to stay and we wouldnt go any where else. The breakfast hampers are so romantic and the new bathrooms are exquisite. The glass walls, large spa and open shower are so perfect for a romantic evening.
It was the perfect place to spend our first night as a married couple. We have never had any problems with the cottages or the staff. It's rustic and romantic the way it should be when your staying in the mountains, with so many natural charms and a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krystaljasmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

The staff's helpfulness over the phone was exceeded only by their conduct face to face throughout the entire stay. The cottages were flawless, being well furnished and outfitted, as well as uniquely balancing an open to nature design with much appreciated privacy. Location is ideal, being situated among more nature walks and wineries than you could possibly make it to in one visit alone. Leaving was a crime against humanity.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

We were given a voucher from friends to stay at Witches Falls Cottages and it was the perfect gift. The cottage was lovely - especially the beautiful garden and bathroom. It was wonderful to unwind in front of the fire, enjoy a BBQ on the deck and relax in the spa. We also took advantage of the massage therapist who came to our room. Two thumbs up. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

We didn't have the pleasure of meeting David during our stay, but found Danilella to be friendly and helpful. Upon being led to our cottage the first thing that I noticed were the shabby curtains at the windows. Upon entering the cottage the musty smell was quite over whelming, and upon further inspection found the windows to be covered with dead spiders and cobweds. The chimney was full of dust as was the ceiling fan. The groves in the furniture were covered in a thick grey dust, and there were cobwebs in the bedside drawers. The bathroom was pleasant but far from spotlessly clean.The bed lined was of very poor quality and the duvet cover hadn't even been ironed. The lighting to the paths had still to be fixed, and we had to take a torch when we went out for dinner, to navigate our way back to the cottage. The presentaion of breakfast hamper left a lot to be desired!
Milk , yoghurt, butter, jam, mustard all served in the single serve plastic containers napkins weren't suppled. The cottages are in a lovely location, and the concept is very nice. Unfortunately the standard and the cleanliness are not. We won't be returning

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelled039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiefwizard, owner at Witches Falls Cottages, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
It is a rude awakening when you have a guest whose expectations you failed to meet and while it has not happened before in the 18 months since we renovated it certainly was the case with these guests. We don’t much like a lousy review on trip advisor but more importantly it’s our guests that we want to enjoy both Witches Falls Cottages and Mount Tamborine.
In this case it was apparent from the beginning that we might not be the right for them and they really had booked at the wrong place. They needed a weekend of being pampered and everything done for them. breakfast made, not a hamper to make your own breakfast, not in an organic, humid, living rain forest but a sterile environment with no spiders, leaves or dusty fireplaces. The concept of our place might have been attractive but the reality certainly was not, being pampered and having everything done for them at Palazzo Versace was what this couple needed and we certainly are not that.
We want everyone to enjoy being with us and for the first time ever Daniela felt it appropriate to offer these guests their money back so they could enjoy somewhere more suited to their needs. They declined this offer. We did get the cleaners to come in again to remove some spiders webs from around the chimney (yes we have lots of spiders here on Tamborine and especially in the forested areas) and like all good spiders they can rebuild their web in an hour! Yes, the curtain had been marked where it gets trapped in the sliding aluminum door. Yes, we had been hit with a storm and the garden pathway lights were not fixed till later that same afternoon. (we do give each cottage a flashlight as our car park and pathways are only softly lit and you need one up here anyway as Mt Tamborine has next to no street lighting, which makes it great for watching the stars but not too good for getting back from the Irish Bar!)
We do meet (and often exceed) most of our guests’ expectations as can be seen on other trip advisor reviews both before and after this stay.
We hope this guests critic and our response will help other guests understand we have a living, breathing, rain forest cottage environment and this will help you decide if we are the right place for you to “Relax, rejuvenate and reconnect”
Chief Wizard – June2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganholme Qld Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights. Log fire, spa - so amazingly relaxing. Had the hot sea shell massage for myself and partner - amazing. Breakfast hampers delivered to your door - hot home made bread - bbq hamper - so much food - no need to take anything - lovely hosts David and Dnaiella - nothing is any trouble and you do not even see them unless you go to reception - completely private little oasis - great luxurious bed and doona - so private - you reaaly feel as if you are in your own privatelittle piece of paradise - came away so relaxed. Cedar Creek Winery us just down the road and does an amazinf, affordable lunch and great wine tasting - such a treat and absolute winter delight.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NolaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed for a long weekend in May and could not recommend it enough.
Highlights were the breakfast baskets, the spa, the pot belly fire and the amazingly helpful and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandPBrisane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
1.5 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.4 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
20.4 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witches Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witches Falls Cottages

Property: Witches Falls Cottages
Address: Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witches Falls Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully different, intimate stone cottages tucked away on beautiful, tranquil Tamborine Mountain in the Gold Coast Hinterland, 30 minutes from the beach and less than an hour from Brisbane. Witches Falls Cottages is the ideal location for a romantic getaway or short break and for those wishing to explore the magnificent Tamborine National Park. The charming hand-built cottages are nestled in flowering scented gardens and towering rose gums –unwind, revive and rejuvenate the spirit and soul as you breathe fresh mountain air, sip champage and lie back in your glass-roofed spa to gaze at the stars on a clear night. By day, your spa experience becomes at-one with nature as the clear-glass walls blend inside with the forest outside. Witches Falls Cottages is situated right next door to Queensland’s oldest National Park where you find the rare Albert Lyrebirds. From your private cottage you can walk to three of the wineries, enjoy a relaxed lunch with a glass of wine, you can walk to antique shops and the village where you find shops and restaurants which are open in the evening for dinner. Points of interest ● Hand-crafted - each character cottage offers intimate split-level living with a stone gable, bullnose veranda, polished timber floors, cosy fireplace and a double spa, perfect for a romantic retreat. ● Splendid Breakfast - delight in hampers with deliciously fresh warm homemade bread and fresh fruit, delivered each morning to the privacy of your cottage. ● Romance - secluded, relaxing cottages, set in a magical location help set the scene for a romantic stay, where you can retreat from the world in total privacy or venture out when you choose. ● Exciting Packages - not just accommodation - many unique & special packages to select from - spoil & indulge yourself in style ● 10 Stars for Hospitality - nice, friendly, incredibly helpful and hospitable hosts, David & Daniela are always on hand to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Witches Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing