We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational romantic venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Witches Falls Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Absolutely sensational place to stay. Lovely stone cottages with an elevated bedroom, lounge and kitchenette with an open fireplace to set the mood. Bathroom was gorgeous, glass windows floor to ceiling overlooking the garden, with a massive double spa bath. Private courtyard with BBQ and rose garden. The breakfast hamper was superb and the hosts couldn't have been more helpful. If you wanted to venture outside and explore the area, nice wineries, cheese factory, bush walks and great eateries to navigate.The Old Church restaurant topped of an already fantastic location. Perfect for a romantic few days away. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in cottage number 5, don't know what the others were like, but it's position was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 279 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

i would first like to say , this place is amazing and very friendly, excellent location and the breakfast was great. the only downfall was booking the rainforest suite. very disappointing,
is nothing like the lodges,which are beautiful.the owners were fantastic and if the rooms were not fully booked would have swapped us to a lodge.so if your booking make sure you don't book the rainforest suite

Room Tip: do not book the rainforest suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiefwizard, Owner at Witches Falls Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Ralph,
We sensed your disappointment as we showed you the Rainforest Suite which you had booked online but obviously by mistake as you expected to stay in a cottage.
The most important thing for us is that our Guests enjoy their stay. Unfortunately all cottages were fully booked so we couldn't change your room which we happily would have done.
The Rainforest Suite is different than the cottages and we believe we are very careful to explain the differences. Many guests prefer it over a cottage as they just love that outdoor spa and the extra space in the courtyard garden.
We hope you see you again soon to enjoy the comfort of our newly renovated cottages.
Best Regards, Daniela & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I booked a short getaway over the weekend and this place was beautiful. Rooms looked new, clean and refurbished. Weather and atmosphere up there was ideal to just cozy up by a fire!

Service was impeccable. David & Daniella were such warm and friendly hosts who were very attentive and gave us good insight on whats to see/do in Mt Tamborine - thank you!

The massage organized was really good too and highly recommended.

We would def be back !

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mannybrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is just a fantastic little getaway that is within an hour from Brisbane.

Service is warm and friendly and very relaxed.

For the price location and accommodation this a perfect gift for your partner and even better if it rains as the fireplace inside creates an atmosphere that only fires can do.

It was the second time I stayed here and was just as good as the last time.

Lastly there are plenty of wineries around with two of them walking distance which is great after some wine tasting :)

Enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdjwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We wanted somewhere special for our 20th wedding anniversary and Witches Falls Cottages didn't disappoint; our hosts were charming and the cottage was delightful. To sit in the lovely large spa looking out to a very private garden was a treat.
The gourmet breakfast hamper was delicious and exceedingly generous with a loaf of freshly baked bread, still warm from the oven.
The bed was very comfortable, as were we.
The real question: would we go back again? Absolutely! (and I can be hard to please)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve_Mike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent one relaxing day at Witches Falls Cottages and found the place to be fantastic. The place was easily located, after an easy drive of approximately 50 minutes from Brisbane. Restaurants and local tourist attractions were near-by and most could be reached on foot, or by a short drive.

Daniela and David were friendly and after giving us plenty of information about Mt Tamborine they showed us the cottage we would in that night. The cottage we stayed in was a cosy, self-contained unit and was a comfortable distance away from the other cottages. We found the interior design to be very nice and thoroughly enjoyed using the spa as well the TV+DVD player for a movie.

We chose the BBQ hamper for breakfast, and it was delivered at 8AM on the dot outside the cottage. We loved it. It was fun to cook, and delicious to eat.The homemade bread was fantastic!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and already we have recommended the place to our friends.

Hope to visit again soon :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner and I spent a relaxing three days at Witches Falls Cottages. The location is perfect, as it is an easy walk to North Tamborine village and also next door to the Witches Falls walks. The accommodation is quaint and the hosts are welcoming. However, the place is very pricey and is not great value for money. At $250+ per night, most people would expect basic room service, even just basic checking for whether tea/ coffee etc needs replentishing. Certainly, I didn't expect to cook all meals on an outdoor bar-b-que at that price. As it was raining (it is a rainforest, afterall), we had to dodge the rain between our room and the bar-b-que area. The living area is quite small, around 4 x 6 metres in the rainforest suite. Still a charming retreat if you don't mind paying a premium for a rustic experience.

Room Tip: Splash out on the cottages for a bit more space, but still very little in terms of indoor facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51KarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
1.5 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
365 reviews
20.5 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
2.4 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witches Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witches Falls Cottages

Address: Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range: $186 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witches Falls Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully different, intimate stone cottages tucked away on beautiful, tranquil Tamborine Mountain in the Gold Coast Hinterland, 30 minutes from the beach and less than an hour from Brisbane. Witches Falls Cottages is the ideal location for a romantic getaway or short break and for those wishing to explore the magnificent Tamborine National Park. The charming hand-built cottages are nestled in flowering scented gardens and towering rose gums –unwind, revive and rejuvenate the spirit and soul as you breathe fresh mountain air, sip champage and lie back in your glass-roofed spa to gaze at the stars on a clear night. By day, your spa experience becomes at-one with nature as the clear-glass walls blend inside with the forest outside. Witches Falls Cottages is situated right next door to Queensland’s oldest National Park where you find the rare Albert Lyrebirds. From your private cottage you can walk to three of the wineries, enjoy a relaxed lunch with a glass of wine, you can walk to antique shops and the village where you find shops and restaurants which are open in the evening for dinner. Points of interest ● Hand-crafted - each character cottage offers intimate split-level living with a stone gable, bullnose veranda, polished timber floors, cosy fireplace and a double spa, perfect for a romantic retreat. ● Splendid Breakfast - delight in hampers with deliciously fresh warm homemade bread and fresh fruit, delivered each morning to the privacy of your cottage. ● Romance - secluded, relaxing cottages, set in a magical location help set the scene for a romantic stay, where you can retreat from the world in total privacy or venture out when you choose. ● Exciting Packages - not just accommodation - many unique & special packages to select from - spoil & indulge yourself in style ● 10 Stars for Hospitality - nice, friendly, incredibly helpful and hospitable hosts, David & Daniela are always on hand to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Witches Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing